5 days in Sihanoukville!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
August 19th 2013
Published: October 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

19th -23rd August

I've decided to put the next 5 days of my blog into this one script, the fact being they consisted of mainly beach days, but some fun evening shenanigans. I just want to say my 'proper' first day in Sihanoukville was spent in the sunshine, on the beach, sipping on a cocktail. That's all.

My second night, Hannah and I ventured over to a different beach where the stretch of bars are situated. I have to admit, I wasn't really feeling up for it but Hannah was so excited. First up, Elephant Bar. A quick Malibu here then wandered down to Nap bar. Nap bar, we got a free shot on arrival and the promotion was whiskey and coke for about a pound. We got chatting to the Londoner bar guy, who at every opportunity gave us free shots of the rice wine. Hannah dragged me onto the dance floor where we busted some moves. She was a bundle of laughs. One of the highlights of my evening was meeting the Cambodian break dance troop, Tiny Toones. They had done a performance that evening. Hannah of course with her big mouth went over to them and mentioned that I like to dance so they invited me into their circle of dancers where we took turns to bust some shapes. This was fun! Moving onto the next bar, JJ's with a couple of the Toones (also with one of them attached to me, telling me he loves me, even after trying to tell him I like women, he said "It doesn't matter, I love you") we danced more but I was getting tired and Hannah was crazy, happy drunk and pulling another Toone, Fresh.

I went home in a tuk tuk around 3am, but Hannah insisted she stayed out. I'm glad she had a good time.

The next evening was quieter, we just stayed in the beach chalet and had dinner with Sue, Steve and Heidi who had not long arrived.

The following day, the weather didn't hold out so I spent the morning reading, blogging and getting a manicure and pedicure by one of the Cambodian women who walk across the beach every day offering such services. The afternoon I played some pool with Steve and also a little Cambodian boy. He said if I won he will give me one of his bracelets and if he won I would have to buy off him. Sadly for him, I won and he walked off in a strop. He was very cute though.

In the evening, Hannah and I went to the cinema in town with Meme and Chris, a couple we had met on the beach. We watched The Perks of being a wallflower and My Great awkward sexual adventure, both very good. However, the latter was a crap copy so I argued with the owner that we were not going to pay. This was after we had consumed a herb pizza...enough said. A few hours later, I wasn't in a good way. Never again! I should have learnt from Amsterdam 2 years ago.

My last day in Sihanoukville. Glad the weather wasn't good, because as you can imagine...I wasn't feeling too good AGAIN. So I slept then woke up for Greek yoghurt and a cup of tea then left for Battenbang on a night bus.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0837s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb