The Cambodia Challenge: Sihanoukville


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
February 12th 2013
Published: May 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Feb 12 2013

Utopia! How fitting. Yesterday me, Corndog, Adres and Carl came to serendipity beach in Sihanoukville. We checked out in Otres beach and found our way to Utopia. Literally, the hostel is called Utopia. Im in desperate need of work and serendipity is the place to be! Everywhere has signs advertising for western staff. It was impossible to work anywhere in Otres Beach because it was soooo dead. Nice for vacation, but not for poor/broke me. I fucking paid $3.50 for friend rice!! 3 fucking 50. Oi gioi oi!..

Now I find myself in a little backpackers paradise and a bit more civilized than these hippie ass places I’ve been. I went out looking for work and came back with a few prospects, but luckily I actually ended up getting a job behind the bar, during the day, at Utopia! Free accommodation, drinks and food. And I don’t start til 11am. It’s pretty sweet too because the majority of work for westerners is flyering. Which is shorter hours but you have to spend your night walking around passing out little flyers for bars and don’t get to party.

My first day on the job was pretty
UtopiaUtopiaUtopia

the hostel i stayed and worked at for almost a week
uneventful… actually kind of boring. I am used to the rule that if the restaurant/bar business you have to always be doing something, clean or organizing or anything really, but here is pretty much the opposite. It took me all day to get my head around the fact I’m just working at a hostel in Cambodia, not a restaurant in the States or Ibiza. By then end of the day I was chillin out by the pool, reading and drinking beers. If someone needed something I would walk over to the bar to help them. I’ll be staying here a while, at least until the 16th because I literally have $10 in my pocket. I need to figure out how to book a bus back to Saigon and pay for the xe om to the airport.

Day: 10 (feb 11)

$1 tuk tuk

1.50 breakfast

.75 water

1 dinner

1 room

2 fish and chips

Total: $7.25



Day: 11

Total: $0



Feb13 2013

BLAH! So ready to sleep for like 12 hours straight… but NO the electricity has to go out.. AGAIN!

I’ve
beachbeachbeach

chillin, enjoying the sun, food and friends
been up for 2 days now..i spent all night last night partying my little booty off. After work yesterday I had some beers here at Utopia and headed down to the beach with some co-workers. Your able to walk along the beach and get free drinks everywhere. Eventually I met some other people and we spent all night dancing and watched the most beautiful sun rise over the Gulf of Thailand and went for a little swim. It was such a surreal morning. By 11am I was draggin a bit so I had a HUGE coffee. They put me on flyer duty for a while just standing outside the hostel promoting for tonight, which actually helped my energy levels.. fake it til you make it. By 5, the guy working the bar with me tells me I can go to bed… and I do! I wake up at 7:30 for staff dinner and head back to bed but sleep isn’t easy as electricity is out almost every night, hence my little rant about being ready to sleep for 12 hours straight. The dorm rooms turn into little saunas when there’s no electricity but I finally sleep graced me.

Day:
gangsta!gangsta!gangsta!

some my co workers
12

Total: $0



Feb 14 2013

By the time it was 7pm, the bar was busy for Valentines day and I was already a few drinks in. After a quick dinner I was heading to my dorm to get ready for the night, when some guy grabs me and throws me in the pool. But don’t worry I saved my beer! Lol. Turns out it is this cutie German guy named Markus. Well I was already in the pool so I gave up on getting ready and spent the night partying with Markus and his friends. All the hours and nights and partying mash together in my mind but most the night we are in the pool, watched the fire show and then it started to piss down rain. Everyone went under the roof of the bar area, but me and Markus played in the rain. The storm was epic and it was like a fairytale, lightening lashed all around up in the grey sky and alcohol made us dizzy with joy and laughter. I love traveling for moments like this. Almost everyday since I left Vietnam, there has been one of those moments where
fire showfire showfire show

nightly these guys did their thing with fire batons
you just know this is how everything is supposed to be, everything is perfect and you revel in the moment.

Day:13

Total: $0



Feb 15 2013

Spend the day relaxing by the pool, tanning and chatting with friends and occasionally pouring a beer at the bar. It turns out today would be my last day in Sihanoukville because all the night buses are booked so I have to take the morning bus tomorrow. I had yet to spend time at the beach during the day, so I grabbed my camera and peaced out. It was glorious. It’s so nice to be in my element, sun, sand and sea.

The people I have met have made my life richer and brought a smile to my face, and this Cambodian family was no different. They were all playing in the shore break and invited me over to hang out and take pictures with them. It was grand. I love how friendly people can be, especially after the history of Cambodia and the Khmer Rouge and how discouraged in the human race I was after that day in Phnom Penh.

Anyways I finished my stroll on the beach and met up with Markus, Christofer (Swedish) and Ucurry (Japanese) on the beach for some fresh sea food and beer that they all shared with me because they know I ain’t gots no dinero! We sat there and enjoyed the sunset. Christofer had a bottle of whiskey so later that night we sat outside the hostel drinking, playing pool and swimming in the pool.

Day: 14

$18 bus back to Saigon (credit card!)

$2 fish burger

Total: $20



Feb16 2103

After leaving Utopia (just crossing the street) I had time to order some breakfast. I forgot I got my room deposit back so I had a spare few $$ to get something. YAY something besides fried noodle or rice! I ordered a bomb ass breakfast burrito. This reminded me of all the mornings me and Niki would get breakfast burritos, hung over and recounting the night before. I miss Niki so much. But how could I be sad?! I have to admit I was melancholy for a minute but then I realized there’s no point. I just had an AMAZING, rejuvenating holiday in Cambodia with little money and just
wish you were herewish you were herewish you were here

dedicated to all my family and friends back home
a small backpack.

After transferring busses in Phnom Penh, I ended up sitting next to another American girl named India, who was making her way back to Hanoi from Sihanoukville. Turns out she lives here too! Sweet. We got well and shared a room for the night in Saigon.

Day: 15

$3 sandwich for bus ride

4 breakfast burrito

.50 water

2 lunch

1 pho in Saigon

5 room

Total: $15.50


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

at the barat the bar
at the bar

the fire guy and more co workers
Utopia friendsUtopia friends
Utopia friends

one of the other girl behind the bar
paradise beachparadise beach
paradise beach

the main beach in Sihanoukville
fresh squidfresh squid
fresh squid

i ate one those squishy things, freshly grilled by a beach lady
sharingsharing
sharing

all the food and beer we were enjoying
Cambodia loveCambodia love
Cambodia love

family on the beach


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb