Indochina Tour - Sihanoukville


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
May 6th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well its day 5 and im nearly half way through already and that dawned on me today, I already dont want to leave just yet !

I beat the alarm clock this morning ( took it easy on the cocktails last night ) and got up to see if I could get some nice shots of the beach at sunrise. Only problem was it was overcast so that pretty much shat on that idea. As I was up i decided to take a quick walk along it anyway and then returned for some brekkie. Pancakes and fresh fruit sounded perfect and it was followed up with another Cambodian coffee.

I had asked about the boat tours to the islands and was told they are all day tours which wouldnt have given me any time to look around today so I decided to give the boat tour a miss - I will do it next time and there is deffo going to be a next time ! So I asked the staff what was about and they arranged for a tuk tuk driver to collect me and take me to a huge market that the locals use. 20 minutes later I arrive at this huge market and it was busy really busy people are selling fresh fruit seafood clothes gold you name it they had it. I picked up a couple of tshirts for a few bucks and get this a carton yes 200 fags for 2 quid thats right 2 quid and they are perfectly smokable British American Tobacco. I get the driver to take me to a supermarket and pharmacy and then we head back to the beach were I am staying.

I pretty much got talked into having a facial and my legs threaded on the beach like most other places the locals walk along the beach selling everything from fruit to rope bracelets but i have never been offered this before so I accepted the cambodian ladies business, she entwines her little finger in mine and makes me promise I feel like Im under oath now but I have no intention of letting her down anyway, so after dumping my shopping in my room and having a bite to eat, Hong the lady has been sat patiently waiting so i take a seat on a sun lounger and Hong and her friend go to work. It is not as relaxing as I thought and it fucking hurts !! I wont be having that done again a hurry. But they did a great job and I enjoyed talking to Hong about Cambodian Life.

Plucked and pruned I hit the beach for a walk and decide to try to get to other end its pretty long. Its quite an interesting walk and I realise as I near the other end the locals use this bit but dont come down where all the tourist bars and hotels are. I park my bum on the sand and watch the ocean, a little cambodian lad is fishing in the surf and he sees me and walks over. I am then promptly told that its not a good idea for me to sit there as I am not local and there are bad gangsters that come to this part of the beach....charming ! Well i decide not to tempt fate thank the lad and start to walk back.

After a quick dip and a drink i hit the room to have a shower and freshen up, I think the heat finally caught up with me and I crashed out under the aircon after my shower, two hours later Im awake I must have needed that. So bit of slap on the face and Im back out for my last night here and wishing I wasnt leaving. I finally have my appetite back and the fried rice looks yumbo so thats dinner sorted tonight and maybe a few more cocktails ! I have to hit the road again at 9 tomo to return to Phnom Penh....Im really sad to say goodbye to the Ocean but I am looking forward to the trip at PP and meeting up with Dad again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



11th May 2012

THE BLOG
No news since Sihanoukville>>
13th May 2012

Dad the internet in Vietnam is awful but then there is 7 million people in Hanoi strangling it ! will update all the blogs today x

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb