Simple life in Sihanoukville


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
December 26th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I can not believe a week has gone by......but that is the gift of Sihanoukville. The days are slow and peaceful and the nights are long and cheerful.

A four-hour bus ride (which felt like seven) landed me at the scenic coastal city of Sihanouville a bit tired and cranky. Maybe it was the small seats, the bumpy road and the baby which kept peeing in the aisle. But once I settled into a guesthouse (once again $5 per night with TV but no hot water) and laid my eyes on the beach as the sunset into the Gulf of Thailand, I was at peace. I jumped into the water and upon exiting, I met a group of lads from the UK (who would become my posse for the next week) who were staying on the beach at a joint called Chamoiys. We planned on meeting later on that night to watch the football match between Chealse and Arsenal (a big one for the Premireship of English Football).

I walked down the beach in the dark to meet up with the lads when I bumped into Orly and Shiri, my Israeli friends from all along the coast of Vietnam.
Israelis EverywhereIsraelis EverywhereIsraelis Everywhere

I bump into Orly and Shiri once again
After the football match, I met up with girls for a drink at Eden before heading off to bed.

The next few days were spent pretty much the same way....sitting on the beach reading and eating, swimming in the sea and then playing cards at night on the beach with the lads.

One day I rented a 250 cc off-road motorcycle and headed to the national park. Some of the roads were still under construction so it made for some hellish riding but I made it in one piece. But I arrived too late (and low on gas) to ride up into the hills of the park. On the return trip to Sihanoukville, I came across a guy from the Czech Republic (Martin) who had riden a similar bike down from Phnom Penh but was on the side of the road getting a flat fixed. I waited and we rode back to Sihanoukville together, both of us having to stop once for gas on the side of the road where families set up stands with gas in 2 litter soda bottles.

The day before Christmas, a girl from NYC shows up (Beatrice) who happened to be a
Gang at ChaimoysGang at ChaimoysGang at Chaimoys

I met up with a group from the UK at a beachside bar called Chaimoys.
bartender at the Bourbon Street bar located around the corner from my 80th street apt. Go figure, half way around the world I met someone who worked only a few paces from my home.

And so a week has past including Christmas 2005 (Merry Christmas everyone) and I have many smiles to remember.

I am sure I will see many of these characters for New Years in Bangkok.

I'm off to the Temples of Angkor in Siem Reap.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

In front of the National ParkIn front of the National Park
In front of the National Park

I pose with the 250cc off road bike I rented. I rode almost 300kms in the day along some bad dirt roads. I unfortunately did not make it up into the national park as the sun was setting and I was running low on gas.
Golden LionsGolden Lions
Golden Lions

At a circle in the road near the beach, these two Golden Lions stand watch.
Boats of SihanoukvilleBoats of Sihanoukville
Boats of Sihanoukville

I grab this shot late in the day of two fishing boats slightly off the beach.
The 'real' simple lifeThe 'real' simple life
The 'real' simple life

Away from the beach, the locals live in simple shacks like this one.
More local homesMore local homes
More local homes

and like these...
Another IU shirtAnother IU shirt
Another IU shirt

I come across this Swede who purchased the IU shirt at a second hand store in Bangkok.
Beach LifeBeach Life
Beach Life

Looking down the beach
NeighborsNeighbors
Neighbors

I travel half-way around the world and who do I meet? Beatrice, a bartender at Bourbon Street on Amsterday Avenue in NYC...which happens to be located around the corner from my apt on 80th and Broadway. Small world. It was fun catching up on my NYC stories with her.
Night CrawlersNight Crawlers
Night Crawlers

Niles shows off one of the two inch long bugs that walk around the sand at night on the beach.


Tot: 0.41s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 37; qc: 159; dbt: 0.2275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb