Sihanoukville


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
March 29th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sihanoukville is a port city on the Gulf of Thailand which has a number of different beach resorts. After another uncomfortable bus journey ( the seats are too small) I got a moto to Serendipity beach where I'd heard was where the backpackers head to. Serendipity is quite a cool little town with lots of guesthouses, bars, restuarants and beach front bungalows. The rest of Sihanoukville is quite spread out so you have to get a moto to the other beaches ( Otres, Victory and Sohka) or if you want to pop into the main town area.

I'd only planned to spend 4 days here but ended up leaving 2 1/2 weeks later!!! It was an amazing place where I had the most fun in Asia. The people were so friendly and good fun. The beaches were not quite as good as the Thai beaches but there was plenty of choice and the night life was great!! Serendipity beach was the closest to my guesthouse ( Mochalal USD 12.00 per night highly recommended). The beach is ok but the water is rough and there are loads of locals selling fruit, massages and lobster. They don't leave you alone so it took a bit of getting used to but at least they were friendly. The best beach was Otres beach as you don't get much hassle and the water is calmer. For sunsets head to Victory beach.

Bamboo Island is a 1 1/2 hour boat ride away and is paradise!!. You stay on in a beach hut with shared bathroom for USD 10.00 per night and you have the whole beach to yourself. There must have only been around 15 people there. It was a great 2 days of relaxation eating lots of healthy food.

Parties on Serendipity last all night at the Nap House and Dolphin Shack and the sunrise is pretty spectacular!!. There are also some great places to eat ( Mick and Gregs, Hapa to name a few).

After 2 1/2 weeks in Snooky I headed back to Phnom Penh and then Siam Reap. I'll get that blog done when I get to Oz as need to leave now to get a taxi to the airport. So its good-bye to South East Asia its been an amazing experience. Its sad to leave and I'll be back in the future for sure. Cambodia was my favourite country but some of the best highlights were in laos and Vietnam. I'm now looking forward to 5 weeks in Australia!!! Hope you're all enjoying the blogs and everyone is doing ok back in England dodging the snowballs. Don't forget to keep in touch!!












Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Frog Frog
Frog

This little fella joined me for dinner
Cambodian goatCambodian goat
Cambodian goat

Not as friendly as the Symi ones but they couldn't half move fast !!
Staff at the French Bar Staff at the French Bar
Staff at the French Bar

They tried to teach us a few words in Khmer they found it so funny!


9th April 2008

Goat
Did the Cambodian goat try to eat your lunch?
10th April 2008

Geat Trip.....
Hello Rob, Your Asian trip sounds like you have had a amazing time in South Asia. I am going back to the ships in about a week, which is a shame, back to the mad house at sea. Maggie has been over for the last two weeks and is going home in about 5 days, its been great having her over here. Enjoy your trip to Oz, email me when you get the chance, tell me all the stuff you cant put on the blog 8) Cheers Carlton
15th April 2008

Bye Asia
I've loved your asia blog and looking forward to the next chapter.
3rd May 2008

Hi from Jake
Hi Rob. hope you are having a fantastic time on your trip around the world. We are having amazing weather in England it has reached 22c . Thank you for the t- shirts and card and I wear the t-shirts to parties. Orlando was amazing. I met my friend James in the Hard Rock Cafe and I saw about 5 chubby people walking around the theme parks. My favourite park was Animal Kingdom it was amazing seeing the tree of life. See you Soon Jake.

Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 63; dbt: 0.2167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb