Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
June 18th 2014
Published: June 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So it was finally time for a lie in, but those who know me well will know that it's beyond my capability to have a lie in, once awake I have to get up!



I needed to visit the Chinese embassy to get my visa as I couldn't get it in the UK as it was too early. It only lasts for 3 months from the date of the stamp. I have been carrying all my documentation around with me for a couple of months in readiness for application.





The embassy opened at 8.30am and I had heard stories of having to wait in long queues so I wanted to get there early, so 8.30am I was in the hotel reception organising a tuk tuk to take me there and back. I took a ride through of the city and it was interesting looking at sites and sounds, oh and smells. We reached the embassy and I had to have my bag searched and hand in my camera. I walked into the very grey bland office with a smoked glass counter behind which were the officials but you couldn't really see what they looked like. I read some of the notices around the room and saw I needed two application forms one for Hong Kong and one for China which was news to me, and I didn't have a second application form and there were none around to complete. So I took my chances and gathered all my paperwork together and went to the counter. The official looked through it, asked me if I was going to Hong Kong, which I was, and advised me to arrange the visa there. I said I didn't have time and he said i should make time, as in make an appointment. Grrrr.





So I went away, looked at my schedule and knew I didn't have time to sort out a visa so went back to the counter to ask why I couldn't apply now. So we had a conversation about where I was going, it's there in the schedule, who was I travelling with, it's there in the schedule, when was I going, it's there in the schedule. Did I pay for the tour already, why didn't I get my visa in the UK and many more. I the end he took my paperwork and gave me a receipt, so fingers crossed they give me my visa.





So I left the embassy, got my camera back and the tuk tuk ferried me back to the hotel. I got hold of Paddy and we headed out for some breakfast and the place we dined at last night. A full fry up and juice and tea was enjoyed and set us up for the day. We sat and flicked through the internet looking for places to go and things to do. We didn't fancy another temple or palace but found something to do the next day, ( all will be revealed!) but it was a bit pricy so we needed to consider our options and plan A or plan B and get some additional info.





We headed back to the hotel and did a bit more research and got some info from the hotel reception and formulated a plan. I then went for a snooze and later we headed for the central market. Paddy and I split up as he prefers to shop on his own. I bought a new pair of trousers and a toe ring - yay at last!





We then came back to the hotel dumped our stuff and headed out for food and cider! We ended up in a restaurant that did tapas amongst other things. I opted for a pizza and Paddy steak and chips, as you can see we are really embracing eating Cambodian food lol.

Afterwards we headed to another bar and had a few games of pool, listening to choons we picked out from the lap,top. Some rock including Disturbed get down with the sickness, some Dubliners amongst other things lol. Paddy lost the first game as he potted the black before his last ball on the table. He won the second game fair and square and I won the third fair and square. So overall I won yay me!





Walking back to the hotel we stopped off at a bar which had a band plying blues so we stopped by to listen. We got some drinks in, sat down and watched the band play. I then noticed that the majority of the people in there were either western guys over 50 and young Cambodian girls. Form your own thoughts and conclusions on that one lol.





We stayed there until the band finished, they were ok but signing miserable blues about how their dog had left them and the car had broken down lol. We also committed to our plan for Wednesday and confirmed everything via email. The football was also on so I watched the first half of the Belgium vs Algeria game and then wanted to head back. Paddy did the gentlemanly thing and walked me back and then headed back to the bar to watch the second half of the game.





When we got back to the hotel the doors were shut and there was a metal gate over the entrance I thought we had been locked out, but we knocked on the glass and the night porter opened up the doors for us, bless we had woken him up and Paddy was going to do it for a second time later!





Xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb