Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
August 16th 2012
Published: August 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yea so I'm getting bad at keeping the blog going. Usually just get 20-30 mins of free wireless at restaurants or Starbucks and I use it to figure out what to do with myself. Finally some free wireless at the hotel the Quay Boutique here in Phnom Penh.

Malaysia was ok but nothing too exciting. It actually felt really western withits huge newshipping malls, sleek public transit. But around every corner with sidewalks falling apart, motorcycle traffic jams reminders of where it really is are still there. Spent a couple days in Georgetown on Penang.. Another old colonial town that's a little too built up for my liking. Then another day in transit in Kuala Lumpur before my Malaysian Airlinrs flight to Zcambodia.

It's chaotic here. Finalyy actually feels like southeast Asia. Tuktuk drivers hounding at every opportunity, telling me the museum is closed so they can take me to the shooting range instead. Beautiful adorned pagodas/temples next to falling down buildings, garbage in the streets everywhere.

Hotel is rig on the waterfront which is nice. The tonle sap river meets the Mekong here. One of the tuk tuk drivers asked me if I wanted to swim. The brown water with a fine covering of garbage kinda makes me say no.

Heading to siemreap to or row to see the temples at Angkor then to Thailand to lie on the beach for a few days I think. Can't believe I'll be home in less than 2 weeks.

Advertisement



16th August 2012

Pleased to see you back
So you turned down the chance of a swim in the brown water Jason? (lol) Makes the St. John's Harbour seem pristine! Glad to hear you're getting the local atmosphere absorbed. Not very interesting to see too much North Americanism. You didn't travel all that distance to feel at home. You've still got two weeks left? Seems as if you've been away for a LONG time. I've got my hearing aid repaired and back in my ear --such a strange experience --I hear little noises that I didn't realize existed. e.g., the clicking sound of the turning signals in the car, the tinny sound of my computer keyboard --they were silent before. As I was telling dad, the world is a noisier place (lol) Ryon & Kim have bought a new car --you'll never guess --an Audie. Bill Matthews is doing well off the Mackeys, eh? Kim intends to drive it around the bay at the W/E. Kids are going out to stay with Stagg grandparents for a week as Ryon is working day shift. That's enough 'local' for now. All the best, and keep us informed of your travels, Nan

Tot: 0.376s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0997s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb