3 years, 8 months, 21 days


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
March 24th 2012
Published: March 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So I'm going to keep this short, but I can't go without acknowledging it. Yesterday I was in Phnom Penh and visited S-21 and The Killing Fields. I knew about Cambodia's tragic history and the genocide long before this trip and arriving in Cambodia, but I wasn't prepared for the emotion that the visit of these two horrible sites inspired in me.

Cambodia very recent history is a harsh reminder of the horrible things we as humans are capable of and how innocent children can be so easily influenced to committ atrocious acts. I wish I could say that hopefully something like the genocide seen in Cambodia will never happen again, but similar atrocities are occuring right now in so many parts of the world.

The visit was a harsh wake-up call as I continue on in my travels. We should never forget what the Cambodian people have been through, and how amazing it that they are so resilient and such beautiful people today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The Child-SoldiersThe Child-Soldiers
The Child-Soldiers

While these children were responsible for the torture and murders at S-21 and the Killing Fields, they are as much victims of the Khmer Rouge as those they killed.
Bones still being unearthedBones still being unearthed
Bones still being unearthed

Walking through the Killing Fields can be a precarious thing - while the mass graves have been exhumed, bone and skull fragments are still being unearthed all over


Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1824s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb