Cambodia here I come


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 13th 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

River crossingRiver crossingRiver crossing

With the bus
I took a Capitol private bus to Phnom Penh which crossed the border at Bravet. The border crossing which some people had reported was difficult, I found fine. The bus arrived in Phnom Penh center at about 1pm. I walked to the hotel with my bag ( about 2km) where the rude fat owner gladly took my 7 dollars per night. I stayed at the Royal Palace Hotel. The room was ok, it had a fan, a tv, a small balcony but cold showers 😞
They really haven't heard about customer service here. I dropped my bags then went for lovely lunch at the place next to the hotel. Where I tried to ask for sprite and got this green fanta which tasted worse than mouth wash.

In the late afternoon I took a tuk-tuk to the S-21 prison. This is a school which was converted into a prison during the Pol Pot regime. The concrete building was really scary. There were about 4 buildings which had been used for holding thousands of prisoners. They had constructed little cells inside the class rooms. The playing ground was converted into a torture device.

After visiting this I walked back in
The first of manyThe first of manyThe first of many

The lovely Angkor beer
the rain to the rivers edge to have a drink and get some food. At dinner I ordered a large beer for 2 usd , which turned out to be a large jug of beer!! At least 3/4 pints. So I was totally drunk. When I left the restaurant at 9 everything had closed and the place looked totally different. Luckily I found my hotel fine.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Fancy a fantaFancy a fanta
Fancy a fanta

This was undrinkable
Barbed wireBarbed wire
Barbed wire

On the school to stop people from jumping to commit suicide
Small cellsSmall cells
Small cells

Inside the old classrooms.
ChopsticksChopsticks
Chopsticks

After a lovely dinner


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb