Eight Thumbs Up and a Fish Massage in Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
May 21st 2010
Published: May 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

First of all, I'm so frustrated because I cannot seem to get my camera to upload pictures anywhere here! I wish I could share some photos of where we have been but it may have to wait until I get home... 😞

I am in love with Siem Reap! The temples were as spectacular as has I had heard, read and seen in pictures. My favorite was definitely Ta Prahm with the enormous trees growing through the temples. It is kind of inconceivable that these trees, nicknamed "the Destroyers," could wreak this much havoc on such a massive structure. Angkor Wat was also spectacular and I fell in love with one of the statues of Vishnu who appeared to be holding all eight of her hands in a thumbs up! Again, I wish I could post a photo!! We enjoyed the sunrise at Angkor Wat and the sunset at Phnom Bakeng, although we don't think we were visiting on the day with the best of either. Don't get me wrong, both were beautiful but it's like any sunrise or sunset, somedays it's amazing, somedays less so.

Yesterday started off at its hottest and got progressively cooler (relatively anyway!) so we took a long break from temple hopping during the day to relax and then went back to see a few other temples and watch the sunset. On the way, we passed a pack (?) of monkeys and watched some tourists let them climb all over them. I tried to convince Carlos to jump in but he resisted... Our tour guide, Kinal, a 20-year-old Cambodian girl, was absolutely wonderful and hilarious and I liked her even more when she told me her boyfriend's name was Benny!

We took our first Tuk Tuk ride into town for dinner last night. Pub Street is bustling with restaurants and bars and people who are willing to sell you anything! Jason was immediately propositioned by a local who said, ÿou need tuk tuk? how about sex? i know nice girls." Clearly he was not interested. The highlight of our trip to town were the fish massages I talked everyone into trying out. Everyone but Jason, who doesn't like anything touching his feet, paid a dollar to dangle our feet into a tank of small fish that proceeded to bite our feet. The sign at the place said "Make funny fish happy to eat dead skin cells off your foot!" It truly was one of the craziest feelings I've ever experienced and I can't even really describe it. It was kind of icky to say the least! It quite possibly could have driven my sister, Helen, over the edge!

Jason's bag finally arrived last night and when it did, it was completely soaked. I guess it's a positive that he has his stuff?? We're off to Laos this morning. Can't wait to see what's next!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



22nd May 2010

Pics
i'm so glad i can keep up with you while you are over there!! I check in every few days. Keep posting... with PICTURES PLEASE!! love

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0524s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb