Goodbye Phnom Penh, Hello Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
January 4th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Thank you for your kindness



My last morning in Phnom Penh was spent shopping at the Russian Market, about 10 minutes moto drive from H’s house. This is Phnom Penh’s answer to Bangkok’s Chatuchak Market where both the locals and tourists shop. This is probably one of the best places to strike a bargain. And unlike Chatuchak, this place is whole lot smaller, cooler and definitely less horrendous to navigate. Highly recommended.

My last lunch in Phnom Penh was sumptuous consisting of lobsters, fried fish and plenty of green tomatoes (courtesy of H’s sister) who took time to cook for us.


“Is the lobster expensive?” I asked guiltily.

From H’s reply, I probably had the answer.



“No lah, just eat.” Prefering to concentrate on his food rather than looking at me.

Back at home, lobsters are considered expensive & a delicacy. Under normal circumstances, I should think that this applies in Cambodia as well.

“Thank you, the lunch was delicious!”


As our motorcycle left the house for the final time today, Lok (the loyal dog) dashed out of the house and “said” goodbye to us in his own way. He chased us for a good 20 metres before calling it quits as he could not overrun the motorcycle.

As I said goodbye to H’s house and continue our journey to Siem Reap, there was a sense of gratitude towards H’s family’s warm hospitality during my short stay with them. I’m not sure whether I would be back for the second time but I would always remember the kindness they have given to a total stranger like me.

12.45pm. We reached the central bus station to embark on our bus journey to Siem Reap, the gateway to the temples of Angkor. It would take us another 6 hours to cover the entire 300 km to reach our destination in the evening.

When we finally reached the town of Siem Reap, it was after 7pm today. Home was the BeQuest Angkor Hotel conveniently located at the town centre. For US$13 per night, it was a great deal. You can read all about our reviews here.

First impressions of Siem Reap was positive. It is a tourist-friendly town that reminds me of Phuket with lots of guesthouses, plenty of eating places, internet cafes and massage parlours.

With a nice guesthouse to rest for the night, I should be looking forward for the rest of my stay in Cambodia.

Good night!






Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb