Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap » Knar
March 13th 2013
Published: March 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a long but fairly painless Ibis bus ride from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap, I was greeted at the drop-off point by the Cashew Nut's tuk tuk driver, and promptly taken to the guesthouse. The courtyard area had a tranquil feel to it, and as I entered the dimly-lit reception area, I was handed a wet face towel and a glass of cold water. I was given information regarding the guesthouse rules and excursions, then I was taken to my large air-conditioned room on the second floor. I had a quick wash, sent a few emails and set out to see what Siem Reap had to offer.

I found my way to the local market, selling bags, clothes and souvenirs, then headed round to Pub Street for something to eat. I stopped at a little restaurant down one of the side alleys, and ordered a fried rice for $2. After dinner, I wandered to a bar, ordered a glass of wine, and spent about an hour people-watching before hailing a tuk tuk back to the guesthouse.

Later, I accompanied the tuk tuk driver to the airport to meet Edithe, then we returned to the guesthouse and planned our
Khmer barbecue meatsKhmer barbecue meatsKhmer barbecue meats

Kangaroo, crocodile, ostrich, pork and beef.
next two days' activities.

Waking up late morning on Wednesday, we went to Pub Street for lunch. We ordered a set meal for two in Khmer Soup restaurant, and enjoyed amok, Khmer curry, rice and spring rolls, along with fruit shakes. It was delicious! When we finished, we went to one of the many fish pedicure tanks that surround Bar Street, and spent about an hour having our feet nibbled for a whopping $3! I can't believe how cheap Cambodia is.

Following our fish pedicures, we sat in a bar contemplating our next move, and finally settled on massages. I had a reflexology massage, foot scrub, neck and shoulder massage, pedicure and manicure, for the grand total of $12! We were there for over two hours, being pampered, and the women told me I look like Adele, so I was over the moon!

We decided to be adventurous for dinner, and went for Khmer barbecue. The hot plate has a ring around the edge, in which water and vegetables are placed. the meat is cooked in the middle, thus allowing the fat to drip into the broth. We ordered pork, beef, crocodile, ostrich and kangaroo. Neither of us had ever tried the latter three, so we were dead excited! We both agreed that ostrich was bland and tough, that crocodile was ok, but that kangaroo was ultimately the best.

After dinner, in usual fashion, my stomach started to hurt, so we went back to the guesthouse with the intention of going back out. It didn't happen.

Advertisement



22nd March 2013

Journey
Just loving for your travels especially for tips for when I visit Phuket. Very entertain writing. Can't wait for next episode xxxx

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb