Rest & Relaxation


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Battambang
January 27th 2012
Published: January 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Cambodian BoyfriendCambodian BoyfriendCambodian Boyfriend

A guy from the circus... he was beautiful!
Once again, I have decided technology is against me. About three hours ago, I sat down and once again typed up a 1100 word blog, that was humorous, interesting and entertaining. The internet was not working, so I thought I’d be clever and ‘select all’ and ‘copy’, so it would be forever stored in clipboard. I then proceeded to restart the computer, open up the TravelBlog webpage, and smiling quietly to myself, hit the paste button and stared at a blank screen. Oh My God… clipboard deletes itself every time you turn off the computer. I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO FRUSTRATED IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!



So, after going out for dinner and getting changed into my pyjamas, I am going to give this another go! Thursday morning, we grabbed a quick breakfast, then went to an NGO called CONcert. We only had a limited amount of time (45 minutes) here, so it was hard to gain a thorough understanding of what they did. From what I gathered, I learnt that CONcert monitored 26 volunteer programs and projects throughout Siem Reap, to ensure that both volunteers/communities received benefits from the work done. It was started by an intriguing British
Raw TalentRaw TalentRaw Talent

Just one of the few impressive tricks these guys did throughout the night!
man, who explained that eventually he wanted to expand to places like Nepal and Peru. It was an interesting concept, though I still feel like I don’t know enough to give you a full explanation.



When we finished at CONcert, we walked over to the dreaded Capitol Bus Company shack. We were going to Battambong, which was where our two day ‘rest and relaxation’ package would take place. The journey would take 3-4 hours on the tired-looking bus, which ended up feeling like a lifetime. This bus consisted entirely of local, had the faint smell of wet rice and had as many people as it could packed in like sardines. Sophie and I sat beside each other, and shut our eyes for some well-deserved sleep. No sooner had we closed our eyes, the bus’ horn blared, shattering the temporary silence. From then on, the horn was pushed at least twice every minute. Cambodian drivers love their horn/bells, and are notoriously known to push them in an empty street, simply to feel power (or annoy foreigners!). Halfway through the bus journey, we came to an abrupt stop, where we were all ushered out onto the side of the
Bamboo Train!Bamboo Train!Bamboo Train!

Or should I say small dangerous platform...?
street. The bus then drove away, with all our passports, clothes and money in it. Before we could freak out, Amy (team leader), explained that this happened last time, and the bus would be back in roughly 20 minutes. Those minutes dragged on, the blistering sun and smell of rotting meat not helping to pass the time easily. As I was saying NO to a woman who had repeatedly tried to sell me baked crickets during that time, the bus arrived! Never had a bus looked so appealing!



After two more hours of bumps and blaring, we finally reached Battambong. We were picked up by a tuk-tuk and taken to an actual hotel! Let me put Earthwalkers into perspective for you. It is basically a backpacker’s hostel, so has the bare minimum. It’s a great place for convenience, though that is about it. Our bathroom is difficult to do a 360 degree turn in, with an infestation of mosquitos and a leaky shower. There are no kitchen appliances and only a dodgy fan to keep us cool in the extreme heat. Sophie and I are sharing a room at the hotel currently, and our reaction when we
Bamboo Cricket!Bamboo Cricket!Bamboo Cricket!

One of the children hand-made this small cricket for me... obviously overexcited!
saw our room was hilarious! We both gave a squeal of delight at actual soft pillows/mattresses, and almost cried with happiness at a mini fridge AND a kettle! The biggest excitement was left till last, and that was A TELEVISION! Who cares if 90% of the channels are in Khmer, this small electrical box made us feel closer to home than ever! Sad, I know, but when you suddenly make drastic changes to your lifestyle, even the smallest things can be exciting!



So, after unpacking our overnight bags and getting changed into our swimmers, we waltzed down to the pool. There, us girls spent out Australia Day basking in the warm Cambodian sun, listening to Triple J 100 countdown and drinking delicious beverages by the extravagant pool. Though not a conventional Australia day, it sure was fun! That night would turn out to be even better! After a quick dip and change, we headed out to the Khmer circus! Sitting down in our front-row seats, we eagerly awaited the circus show to begin! I’ve been to many famous circuses, like Cirque do Soleil, so I wasn’t expecting too much – boy, was I wrong. This circus, though
Dinosaur!Dinosaur!Dinosaur!

Riding a dinosaur... as you do... in the middle of Cambodia.
small, was absolutely magnificent. The level of skill and focus present was incredible, the skits were original and the talent was unmistakable. Not to forget, the guys all had amazing bodies! Sculpted to within an inch of their lives, their washboard abs and cheeky grins also made a great show! Jamie, you would have loved it babe hahah!



After the incredible night at the circus, we went and grabbed dinner at a cute café called the Green Gecko. This was delicious, and our server, Aya, was gorgeous! We finally made our way to the hotel, where we had a blissful night of sleep – I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud!



This morning we had breakfast at the buffet in the Hotel, and then started to get ready for the day’s adventure. Sophie unfortunately was not feeling well, so stayed in bed for most of the day. The others and I went on the Bamboo Train, which was an experience in itself. Expecting a train, we were met with a flat piece of bamboo, that used dumbells as wheels and a boat motor to power it. Reaching almost 60km/h, this was actually terrifying! When we reached our stop, we talked to a few local children for 15 minutes, who gave us little animals they had constructed out of bamboo – I received a cricket!



We then went on a little tour around the city, where various statues have been erected for no particular reason. My favourite was that of a dinosaur, which I took a small joyride on! After this, we got back to the hotel and went to the pool! I finished another 500pg book (Jodi Piccoult



Now, I am in my beautifully comfortable bed, watching Lord of the Rings 3. I feel like I’m in heaven! I know the next couple of weeks will be so difficult, both physically and mentally to finish this wall. I know we can do it, and although it will take all the power we have, it can and will be done! I am feeling more optimistic than ever, and with only two weeks to go until I’m home, I CAN’T WAIT! I’d like to say a special thank you once again to my beautiful grandparents for continuing to update me on what’s happening, and a big thanks to my Aunty Bec – your email made me cry! I’m so glad to be inspiring people, and helping people! I miss you all so much, and can’t wait to see you all again my loves!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb