Bikin' and Templin'


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
April 26th 2006
Published: October 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

E-mail #4 Keep on rollin'...

Hi everyone,

Hope everyone is doing well. I hear that the sun has finally shone in Vancouver..I'll cross my fingers for you and hope that it will stay from now through the summer! All is well in Asia. I managed to fight off the dirty food out of my system and I have been stung so many times by mosquitoes now that I think that I can produce an anti-sting remedy from my blood. #$%@ I hate mosquitoes!!!

I am presently in Cambodia and love it! Today we rented pedal bikes and biked from 7-4pm amongst the ruins around Angkor Wat. For those who don't know, the Angkor Wat site is comprised of a number of temples (wats) built from the 8th to 12th century by the Khmer kings and its people. All of these temples are made rocks, primarily sandstone with murals carved within the walls. The temples are far better preserved than the Roman ruins with most of the structures largely in tact. The tragedy though is that during the reign of the Khmer Rouge, many sculptures were beheaded and the temples looted of their icons. What remains though is stunning! It is like being in an Indiana Jones movie. On another note though, although there is this stunning site and five star hotels that litter the city nearby, many Cambodians are dirt poor. Children as young as 6 beg everywhere. These kids are excellent pick pocketers and can easily scam you for your money. So I have mixed feelings about giving money in an effort to try to help. The country needs to help itself badly!

We will be here for another 2 days afterwhich we have a scheduled flight for Burma/ Myanmar on May 2nd. Burma is a mystery to me and most of the world and I am totally excited to explore it. Until next time, hope to hear from you. Hint hint, I have not heard from a few of you at all and would love to!!!

xox Kel 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mega StairsMega Stairs
Mega Stairs

Funny how in North America, we put guard rails, do not climb signs on everything that's fun. Freeclimbing in Angkor, a UNESCO site!


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb