A taste of what lies ahead.


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
May 10th 2013
Published: May 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's only been a few days, but I know many of you are wondering if I made it okay and how things are going so far...

After the longest journey of my life, I finally made it! There was a hartel (general strike) the day I arrived, so pretty much everything was shut down. Thankfully the airport still continues to operate during hartels, and rickshaws are still cycling people to and from. A hartel is usually organized by a political party to allow the people of Bangladesh who are in favour of their views to demand change over certain laws and government operations. Lately, there have been many as an election is quickly approaching. As some of you are aware, there have been recent hartels that resulted in violent activity. I know that worries you, but please know that I am far removed from any demonstration that has occurred and that if our safety is ever in question our apartment is a safe house for us.

I don't have a ton of exciting stories to share yet, but I did get the chance to go explore the neighbourhood. The traffic situation definitely reminds me of days spent in Thailand. There are absolutely no regulations, and everyone can drive, cycle, walk, etc. wherever they want and in whatever direction they choose. Definitely no more Vancouver style street crossing where pedestrians rule the road, you don't matter and they need to get where they are going. The area that I am staying in is called Uttara. It is a newer area that is growing quite rapidly - there is construction everywhere you look. The population that makes up this neighbourhood is quite diverse. Young children to the aging folk, some homeless and poverty stricken to everything in between and right up to the wealthy who are driving new cars and sporting flashy gear. The weather has been quite warm, usually in the 30's, with a humidity that is out of this world. Everything feels damp at all times and smells of mold. I guess on the plus side, I can have that curly do I never imagined possible.

I also got a chance to explore the University that we are partnering with. It is referred to as IUBAT, the International University of Business, Agriculture and Technology. It is a private university, so the building and grounds are quite nice. We are actually going there again tomorrow morning with our instructor to meet the fourth year nursing students and spend the day with them exploring community health issues. It should be an interesting introduction to the nursing culture in Bangladesh. Next week we will be starting some bigger projects with the students there, including the development of a community health assessment tool that we are going to utilize when we visit the School of Hope. This school is a non-profit, non-religious, and non-political institute that provides education to disadvantaged children. We will also be helping them out in their practice labs, working with them through their clinical placements at different health centres and taking the lead in teaching one of their classes. I'll definitely keep you updated on the work that happens.

Well, I have to run as dinner is being served shortly, but I promise I'll write soon again. I did mange to capture a few photos, so hopefully it will allow you to envision where in the world I am. Until then take care, xo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



10th May 2013

glad you got ther safe
so nice to hear from you and that you are there safe. you look very cute in your outfit. love you, grandma
10th May 2013

Hello!
So good to hear from you and there you are off in Bangladesh! Thanks for including me on your blog, us old people like to know where everyone is and what they are up to. Cheers.
14th May 2013

Hello....
Thank you so much for sharing your updates to date on your journey Shalyn. We are so removed here on how others live in the world, I really enjoy all the information/ stories you have shared and the pictures. I find your blog very interesting and look forward to more. I am very proud of you. Enjoy everyday, learn lots, and keep safe! Love Auntie Tracey Hugs and kisses!

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb