The Army Golf Course


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka » Dhaka
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The 3rdThe 3rdThe 3rd

A tricky Par 5. Three water hazards across the fairway. Do you risk the drive or drop an iron short?...I lost a ball here and made a triple bogey.
Blogger Dougo

Last weekend, I played m third round of golf at The Army Golf Course. All the courses are owned and operated by the Bangladeshi Army. I am not sure why. Greg, Paddy and Mike, three teachers from school, and I played 15 holes before we had to get Mike's car back home. I wasn't complaining. Having played like shite for the first 5 holes, I won the next 2 holes for me and Paddy and dropped my first birdie on the 8th. It was all downhill from there though and by the 13th I was dragging my feet and could barely swing the club. 30+ degree heat takes its toll and when you have to walk twice as far coz you can't hit the ball straight down the middle, you get stuffed pretty quickly!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Caddy shackCaddy shack
Caddy shack

Everyone gets a caddy. All of them are fasting for Ramadan. 30 + degrees, carrying a bag of clubs without food or water. Tough work. We made sure we gave em a hefty tip.
The LawnmowersThe Lawnmowers
The Lawnmowers

Dotted all over the course are these guys. Paid buckley's to sit and cut out the 'weeds' from the fairways and around the greens.
Play it where it lies!Play it where it lies!
Play it where it lies!

Sometimes, the lawnmowers don't seem to get the hint when you are addressing the ball 10 feet from their heads!!
The Par 4 8thThe Par 4 8th
The Par 4 8th

Having sliced my drive off the tee onto the far side of the opposite fairway, I then dropped a Pitching wedge onto the green for 2 shots. I am lining up for my first birdie...
Birdie on its wayBirdie on its way
Birdie on its way

An angled green. Putting uphill. Tiger Woods 'ish for my first ever birdie. Credit goes to my caddie for being a nosy bugger and pulling out my camera without asking. Nice one!
More lawnmowersMore lawnmowers
More lawnmowers

Ok, so two or three off the side of the fairway, fine. But this is ridiculous! Oh, the guys in yellow are our ball boys. They stand down the hole from us to track our ball. Coz, you know, keeping track of it is such a chore when you are trying to play it straight!
Happy chappysHappy chappys
Happy chappys

These guys toil all day in the sun for practically nothing. I don't care what people say, these poor lads have got guts.


Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb