In the field


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Barisal
January 4th 2009
Published: January 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am currently between worlds--nearing the end of my ten hour stay in the Hong Kong airport, tired and not knowing what to make of my relationship to the country I just left (the US) or the country to which I am returning (Bangladesh). Nor do I really have much time to think that out. In six hours I will arrive in Dhaka, and hopefully fall into a blissful sleep, after which I will wake up and have approximately 36 hours to get over jet lag, unpack, re-pack, and adjust back to life in Bangladesh--all in time to get on a launch boat on Tuesday night and head down river to Barisal. I will either hit the ground running or reeling. And as I am in favor of the former, I thought I'd go through some photos from our last trip to Barisal in December. Photos are typically how I experience things, and I thought it wouldn't be a bad idea to start remembering the way my life is in Bangladesh (so that it's that much easier to live it when I am back). Already I am looking forward to good dal, the wonderful people I work with, and the incredible beauty of Barisal (and trying not to dread things like the return of urnas and profuse sweat in my life). Here's to being back in the Desh.


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

MushroomsMushrooms
Mushrooms

After a long day of walking and not eating, Parendi and I were more than thrilled to stop off at the mushroom farm. This 1 kg package of mushrooms cost us less than a dollar, and provided many nights of incredible meals.
Parendi has a followingParendi has a following
Parendi has a following

These kids found it hysterical that Parendi took her time crossing this bamboo bridge, and as soon as I started taking pictures they all flew onto the bridge so that they could be photographed as well.
Drying riceDrying rice
Drying rice

Houses in Bangladesh are usually clustered in what is referred to as a "bari," or group of houses traditionally composed of related nuclear families. Most baris have courtyards like these, which are used for everything from drying rice and hay to holding gatherings.


5th January 2009

all the delta photos are beautiful!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb