Tere Zai


Advertisement
Afghanistan's flag
Asia » Afghanistan » East » Khost
March 27th 2009
Published: July 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

wood hutwood hutwood hut

Our sleeping arrangements were crowded, but better than being outside, I think
-146 days till Afghan national elections

The next thunder mission had us going to Tere Zai. We stayed for 10 days and patrolled different villages. We were attacked a few times both at the camp and while on the convoy, when an IED went off right behind our vehicle. ANA soldiers retaliated by getting out of their vehicles and shooting indiscriminately into a crowd of spectators. Two people were wounded as a result-a kid in his late teens or early twenties that I managed to stabilize, and a 5 year-old boy I couldnt get to in time. His father stood right next to me the entire time as I kept giving him CPR and didn't even realize it. Children can't afford to lose blood like adults can, and require different types and sizes of equipment to treat. As soldiers, we are trained to aid fellow soldiers, i.e. adults-I never even considered that children would be under my potential care. As soon as I got back to Camp Clark, my first priority was to get pediatric supplies, but I would not find any at any of the local camps until I got to Kabul 3 months later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

posingposing
posing

taking a quick break during a long patrol in a remote village looking for intel on Taliban
overlooking villageoverlooking village
overlooking village

im not sure how long its been since this cow ate.
posing againposing again
posing again

How often do you get to take a picture with an afghani cow?
localslocals
locals

Meeting new kids usually makes the trip worthwhile
restingresting
resting

stopping for a second during another patrol


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb