Life Goes On


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » McMurdo Station
October 18th 2010
Published: October 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mt. ErebusMt. ErebusMt. Erebus

You can see the smoke out of the top of the volcano
I have been in Antarctica for a little over a week now and, so far I would say that I am having a very positive experience. Everyone I meet is super down to earth, I feel as if I will develop so strong lifelong relationships with most of my friends down here. Yesterday I went for a day hike with a couple that I meet, Anna and her boyfriend Dane, two super cool people who I hope to hang with sometime off the Ice. We did a trail called the ridge trail. It was hyper windy, with the wind chill around -20F. The trail started at Discovery hut and worked its way up the hill from there. The sites were beautiful and the wind made the journey that much more challenging. I have a much greater respect for the early explorers that traveled long before civilization was here. Those guys must have been a different breed altogether. We were out on the trail for maybe a little over an hour and I was super excited when we rolled back into town and found a hot cup of tea. I can’t imagine being out in that stuff all day and then
Ridge Trail Ridge Trail Ridge Trail

Hiking the ridge crest trail, it was so windy
setting up camp and then doing it again the next day. This is a harsh place, but it just adds to the beauty of this place. I can’t believe how lucky I am to be here and enjoy such a spectacular place.
I have learned a lot about myself in the past couple of days I have been here, without a TV, and the usual distractions of the everyday modern life. It is a good change of pace and has allowed me the opportunity to learn more about myself, and listen to my thoughts, as they are no longer drowned out by constant bombardments of advertisements telling you how to look/act/feel/think. I have been meditating daily and have learned so much from the people around me.

Be Happy,
Graham



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb