Day Off


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » McMurdo Station
January 18th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The LibraryThe LibraryThe Library

tucked away at the end of each aisle are nice, quiet, comfy chairs to read in.
Because nobody works here on Sunday and we are waiting to hear if battery reconditioning works before anything else can be done, I have the day off!

The recreation team and a bunch of volunteers organized a marathon for today and I thought about skiing the full or running the half. The course is on the ice shelf and goes between Willy Field, Pegasus (where the C-17 jet-engine cargo planes land) and Scott Base. But morning and running don't mix well with me, so, a little disappointed, I sat this one out. However, I found my way to the library and encountered a Runner's World magazine and read that.

Eventually, I did go for a run of my own, but far shorter than 26.2 miles.

Gallagher's bar had burger night tonight, so I stopped in for some grub. I went down to Hut Point to look for penguins (still no luck), then just kind of lazied about.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

ChessChess
Chess

Sir Chillingsly and Master Slapshot partake in friendly game of chess
ReadingReading
Reading

Chillingsly with a book
PuzzledPuzzled
Puzzled

Slapshot and I put together a puzzle.
Gallagher'sGallagher's
Gallagher's

Pool table in the back and a weird, slide-things-across-the-long-frictionless-table-and-see-how-close-to-the-edge-you-can-get-them game near the wall


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 4; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb