Friday the 13th


Advertisement
Antarctica's flag
Antarctica » Antarctica » McMurdo Station
January 13th 2006
Published: January 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

HercHercHerc

Our LC-130 Hercules transport arrived almost 12 hours earlier than expected.
Friday the 13th, a day often associated with bad luck, turned out to be very lucky for our team. We left WAIS early (about 12 hours earlier). Due to bad weather at South Pole, WAIS received an additional flight.

The flight did not take too long. Upon arrival at Williams Field, I was disappointed at the lack of support. We were not allowed on the shuttle so that Air Guard personal can change shifts. Since it was toward the end of dinner time, we had to eat at the Williams Field Galley. The food was good, but I would have expected an additional shuttle to pick up our flight.

I was stunned with how many mountains were around McMurdo. I know I was only here about two week ago, but compared to WAIS’s bleak landscape, this was stunning. I really had taken the view for granted.

Upon arrival at McMurdo, I picked up my room key and went up to dump my stuff off. The room was horrid. Upon walking in, my gag reflex took over. The smell was nauseating. Bottles of Captain Morgan were strewn about. Some were half full of tobacco spit. I walked down to
Last Look at CampLast Look at CampLast Look at Camp

In a very short time, the construction crew and staff created one hell of a field camp at WAIS.
housing to request a change, but it was too late. I would have to come back on Saturday.

Our gear was not due to arrive until about 11pm, so I decided to turn in early.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb