10 Million Dollars And 10 Cheeseburgers


Advertisement
Africa
April 15th 2012
Published: April 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My trip to Victoria Falls ended on a high note... When I was checking out, the girl at the front desk of the hotel gave me $10,000.000 Zimbabwe note. What a nice departure gift I thought, them paying me to stay there. I figure the Zimbabwe economy must be doing very well if they give these out to all the guests... That wasn't the case.

Zimbabwe stopped using their own currency a couple of years ago when they switched over to the US dollar. As a result, their currency is no longer of any use and there is a lot of these dollars floating around as souvenirs. I gladly took it and will have it framed at some point.

I stopped in Johannesburg for 24 hours and did some shopping. In addition to the essentials I needed, I was asked by Michelle, a co-worker of mine and fellow Canadian, to pick up cheeseburgers at McDonald's. She has been having a hankering for them ever since I met her. I bought them, packed them in ZipLoc bags and buried them in my suitcase.

You can't get McDonald's here in Tanzania. In order to bring uniformity to their products, the
10 Cheeseburgers10 Cheeseburgers10 Cheeseburgers

As you can see, she couldn't wait for me to get the picture taken.
company would have to ship everything in from wherever and the Tanzanian government said no to that. As a result, you will not find any golden arches anywhere in this country.

Apparently, according to Michelle, they tasted just like the ones at home. I don't know if that was a blessing or a curse... but at least her hankering is over... for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb