Bring On The Sympathy!


Advertisement
Africa
September 2nd 2011
Published: September 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am off from work today, because I am sick! Yes, believe it or not, I am in the humid, hot, tropics and I have a chest infection. Yippee!!!

I all started last Monday when I was riding the daladala to a meeting. A daladala is a city bus here. The windows are all open and the black exhaust from the diesel engine kept flowing in through the windows as we sat in a traffic jam. No one else seemed to mind, so I thought, “Hey, maybe it’s just me!”

Anyway, it all started as a tickle in my throat after that ride and it progressed to a chest infection... With crud in my throat and chest.

I tried to fight it with normal cough syrups, but nothing would budge. I ended up taking today off from work and going to the IST Clinic (International School of Tanganyika Clinic) this morning. It is run by 2 Dutch doctors who take care of all the ex-pats in the area.

They did blood work and malaria was ruled out. In fact, they said my blood was all good. She then listened to my chest and back and prescribed the following....

Zocin (250mg)... 2 capsule once a day for 6 days
Actifed: Wet Cough & Cold Cough Syrup: 2 tsp 3 times a day
Otrivin Nasal Drops: 2 times a day for 5 days
Bro-Zedex Cough Syrup: To be taken whenever I feel tightness in the chest

I am home, fully loaded up on what she gave me and heading for a nap shortly.

The best part about it all? I weighed myself on the scale at the clinic and I am 89kg or 195 lbs. I have lost 21 pounds since February. I knew Africa would agree with me!

The reason for this entry is to let you all know that, even though I may get sick here, we VSO volunteers are well-taken care of and have full access to medical attention... even if it is a stupid chest infection and nothing exotic.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



2nd September 2011

Exotic?
We don't need exotic--and neither do you. Hope the next installment confirms you've rebounded.
2nd September 2011

Greetings!
Hi Honey! All caught up with your blogging and am amazed by it all! Can't wait for next installment! Take care my friend! Johnniexoxo
3rd September 2011

Be well Butterfly
Hey Bobby Lawlor, I just spent the last few hours finally catching up on your exciting life path, only to be left with an entry that finds you under the weather. :-( Hey, these things happnen. Love the pictures and vivid detail of how life keeps you busy. Be well Butterfly. Love, Hoops and Much Goodness, Willy

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb