Kruger and such...


Advertisement
Africa
November 26th 2009
Published: November 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been awhile! Africa has been keeping me busy busy busy.

My trip to kruger national park was fantastic and eventful. It was about a three hour drive in the safari vehicle we took. We stopped about halfway in Hoedspruit to get food for the two braai(bbq as we would say). So I got some chicken. Excited to get some protein after being a little protein deprived. After being lucky on our first drive getting to see a hyena (spotted by me I am proud to say!). We saw all the basics the first day as well (zebra, giraffe, rhino, elephant etc) We made it to our first camp just before nightfall. After Emile (our tour guide) lit the fire it was going to be about a 40 minute wait so I decided to take a bath...true luxury here! So I grabbed a couple wine cooler...(turning out not to be twist off so using the little edge of the round metal part of the tub that drains water if the tub is too full...so artfully became my bottle opener) and decided it would be a good oppertunity to finally get to shave brought all my bath stuff and sinfully enjoying myself! It was quite a hike back to the tent (true tents though...they had four proper beds, windows, and a patio...more like a canvas house). I made it three-fourths of the way there when I felt an intense pain on my foot and my flip flop went flying about 15 feet up the path (automatic response to hopfully get whatever was causing the pain away) Two things crossed my mind (1. I could not comprehend the amount of pain in my foot and leg and all I could do was yell and 2. I was going to die!) ok so a little dramatic but when I had no idea what had bit me and I was a little out of it and running a fever. All that could go through my head was all the stories af the really dangerous bugs, snakes, and spiders that people love to tell...anyways to make a long story short a half an hour later I was on my way to a hospital in the middle of the night in the back of a truck with two of the girls I was traveling with. Still feverish and feeling sick to my stomach as well I was in store for an hour ride to the closest hospital. I was sure my little trip to the hospital was going to break my bank. After examination of the puncture wound the doctor told me I was stung by a scorpion. The most posinous scorpion in South Africa...parabuthus transvaalicus. All I wanted by this time is my mom and dad and my bed. After the epidemic of stomach virus throughout the foundation (90% of the people were ill with vomiting and severe stomach cramps...another trip to the hospital...) you learn quickly all shots are given in you bum. He told me I needed three shots...no idea what anymore...I wanted to just get it over with. He gave me all three shots at once and it only felt like one. It was a pretty nifty trick and knocked me out for the car ride home and a good portion of the next day...I was back in action and ready to go back annd face the South African wilderness(and trust me its no freaking night in France) and only 700 rand poorer...about 90 dollars(very inexpensive considering the doctor had to be called in and the injections and everything).

The rest of the trip was really great! We saw a lot of nice things and even a cheetah! There are less then 200 cheetahs in the entire park. One of the highlights too was getting to see a croc and some lions argue over a giraffe carcus. Also something I was really lucky to witness. I also got a rare shot of a leopard on our sunset drive. Being in kruger was like being in a dream. Literally it is like stepping into the lion king. The animals are massive and they are so beautiful. I finally had the reality check that I am in Africa. It is one of the most beautiful places I have seen.

Baby season is in full swing. We have gotten two orphaned monkeys. The names of the two babies are precious (girl) and Mamba(boy). They are the most amazing little babies in the world. Since we have gotten the orphans in we all are on call 24 hours a day. Each shift with the babies is about 4 hours and you can trust that you will get some serious poo and pee covering you. Other then that the time is really great. The
Giraffe...Giraffe...Giraffe...

So huge in person!
night shift is from 7:30 pm to 6 am. It is just like a human baby. They wake up in the middle of the night at least several times and you have to feed them or do whatever it is that they want before you and the baby can go back to sleep. I am really excited that I get to watch them grow up.


My life here has been going rather well. I was very homesick for awhile but am starting to put things in better perspective. I still miss my family and friends but I am no longer struggling with the sad feelings that come with missing my family and friends. I really am coming to love and cherish all the things I am experiencing. I now know that the good and the bad, all the happy times and all the sad times, will become a huge part of who I am. I am coming up on 7 weeks being here and 23 people have come and gone. People I love. Its very hard to connect with all these people and then have to say goodbye. I am very happy to make all the international friends I am. I now have friends all over the world and invites to come stay with people from several different countries. Every person I have made friends with and had to say goodbye to will always hold a special place in my heart.

I miss all of you and love hearing from you all!

What a wonderful world....



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 26


Advertisement

Leopard!Leopard!
Leopard!

No actually its a turtle...
Could not tell you! Could not tell you!
Could not tell you!

I know I am a bad tour guide!
CheetahCheetah
Cheetah

Under 200 of these in the park...pretty cool to see one.
Leopard Leopard
Leopard

Normally up in trees or on the move so we got lucky!


28th November 2009

Kruger Park
I am so thrilled you got to see so many animals and that you have such incredible photos. I can't wait to have you put them to a CD and some music when you get home. And, I am also very thankful that you survived your bit wound (and shot in the bum)! Love Mom
28th November 2009

RE: Kruger Park
You are a brave soul and a survivor! It had to be pretty scary getting bit and esp. not knowing by what until you got to the hospital. I am really proud of all you are accomplishing on your trip. I am going back to the states in two days so i will be writing you from home after this. England has been fun, definitely nothing like you are experiencing, but i love it. Take care and continue the great attitude! Love, Candye
28th November 2009

Fantastic Photos of Kruger Park
Thankful that you are doing okay after your Scorpion bite. You are definitely experiencing a lot of things that most people only dream of; think we can all do without the bite though. Your photos are fantastic and we really enjoy them. The friendships you are experiencing will add color and depth to the rest of your life. What a wonderful and exciting journey you are on. How thrilling to be able to be part of the 'adoptive parent' process with Precious and Mamba; they are adorable. To be in that park and see those animals in their natural habitat must have taken your breath away. Continue to enjoy each and every moment of your experiences. We look forward to your next update. Love, Walter and JoAnn
28th November 2009

Fantastic
First time caller, long time listener. I look forward to these blogs and pics of yours. Glad you are surviving. Hope your trip continues to be so rewarding. Take Care, Chris
29th November 2009

Well...
It's no Billings zoo but it'll have to do... I guess. ; ) I'm so happy for you kiddo, you're doing great and having an amazing time. Can't wait to hear the stories first hand. Jonny
1st December 2009

Wow!!
Hi Granddaughter, As your grandparents we are naturally worried about your health and well-being--but on the other hand we envy you and your incredible experiences. What we would hve given to have had that opportunity back when we were your age!! Your photos are unbelievable and so interesting!! We cant wait for your return to get your comments about all of your experiences. Keep them coming because we look forward to them with anticipation. Grpa and Grma
8th December 2009

Kruger Park
Hey there my darling daughter. I so love seeing your photos and reading of your adventures. Please keep them coming honey. Your photos are amazing. Will you be able to go back to Kruger before you come home in April? If you can I would love to see more photos of the preserve, the cages, lodge, facilities, etc. I look forward to going on some photo expeditions with you when you get back to God's country this spring. Thanks for the update my little adventurer. Love, Your Dad

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb