Siemien Mountains. No I could not


Advertisement
Africa
October 18th 2009
Published: October 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Simien mountains are amazing mountains in northern Ethiopia. The highest pic is at 4,543 Meter.
Its a nice few days hike, sleeping in huts, amazing landscape, endemic flora and monkeys. fun. I was sure that my ridiculous altitude sickness would be controlled, thanks to modern medicine, so I've decided to hike. the first day was easy - the driver drove, the cook cooked, all I had to do was to relax and get used to the altitude. So I did. I've even took a short walk, and found myself (as usual) sitting and admiring the amazing green mountains... dinner, bonfire, and off to bed. it was 22.00 and I was exhausted.. The morning after, the hike had started great - it wasn't difficult, the mountains were amazing, a group of male Gelada monkeys was sitting together doing disgusting boys stuff, I was happy. I could do it. then we've started claiming. it took me 30 minutes to understand that my direction is gonna be straight to the campsite. I couldn't breath, I've started shaking, couldn't put 2 words together, couldn't calculate my rapid pulse. All I could understand was that the group can't wait for me and all I wanna do is get to bed ASAP. Gili had stayed with me on the main road, stopping passing cars, asking if they are going to the campsite. those who spoke English (the tourists) didn't know those who drove the cars didn't speak English. In one of the cars was sitting an American Doctor, (YES, I was saved by the Americans) who gave me a magic medicine. it worked fast, in 10 minutes I've managed to thank her (as I said, 2 word together). I understood that they are going to drop me at the junction to the campsite, but few minutes later I found out that to get to the campsites I need to walk 4 hours uphill from the main road, there is no road. cars can't get there. I felt strong enough to walk, thanked the Americans again and they took of. When I could think clearly again I've understood that there is no way I'm going to stay in a place I can't be rescued from, that I feel better now but its very temporary and in few minutes, maybe hours, I will probably feel as I felt before taking the magic medicine. We've decided to stop any car that can get me down to Debark, the nearest reasonable town possible. We've agreed that Gili will send me my backpack with a couple that was hiking back to Debark, and will be there in 2 days. We have managed to stop a car that went up to a view point and then back down. They were the only option, so I've joined them. sitting in the car was a lot easier. I felt safe again, I could try and relax, breath again, rest. I was so tired from the physical effort of keeping my legs in order, they hurt and they continued hurting for few days. I could not continue controlling them and could hardly step out of the car in the view points, to see some of the amazing landscape, I will probably never be here again, and its my only chance. I did my best. couldn't say I'm proud with the results..
Eventually I made it to the hotel, I was so tired. I slept for almost 30 hours woke up only to go to the market.... :-) .
on the way down, when I started feeling a little better, and they stopped for lunch, I had a very interesting talk with the driver:
Driver: "do you have a boyfriend?"
Dying me: "I have a husband, back home".
Driver: "What does your husband do?"
DM: "He is a doctor" (yes, years and years of Jewish education. my husbands are usually doctors or engineers)
Driver: "so you are probably looking for a boyfriend."
DM: "no. thank you. I am not interested. as I said, I am already married"
D (checking my non existing wedding ring): "do you have children?"
DM (sad smile): "no"
D: "Why not?"
DM (even sadder smile): "Its very a personal question. let's leave it by that: we can't have kids"
D: "so who has a problem? you or him?"
DM: "we don't know, decided not to check" (I forgot my husband is a DOCTOR!!!) "But we have decided to help other kids in need. (as we all know, my Alter Ego is a lot nicer then the real me)
D: "are there children in need in Israel???"
I had to explain him that even in Israel, the land of god and white people, there are kids in need.

Something is wrong with my internet cafe ;-) it's the first time I have managed to upload so many photos in only 10 minutes.. so I had to leave them all for you to see..


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



15th January 2010

:)
Hi, I'm looking to travel in the semien mountains in october (wanted the rainy season to end, but the land to still be green). Was happy to see your pictures ... seems like a lovely tirp. Sorry to pick on this but i was struck by, "I had to explain him that even in Israel, the land of god and white people, there are kids in need." Ironic that you think of Israel as that ... especially considering you were in Ethiopia, and in an area not very far from where the Bete Israel used to live.
24th January 2010

Kids in need
are everywhere. I think it's relative to the society. not the world.... any person in need find it difficult to relate to other needs. enjoy Simian mountains. Bring lots of medical supplies with you, if you can, to help those kids Merav

Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb