Torit the wonderdog...


Advertisement
Africa
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I thought I would post a few pics of "Torit":, the camp dog. As you can see, he is quite comfortable sleeping in the office, r anywhere else fot that matter... or generally looking indifferent to his surroundings. He has taken to following me around a little bit, but I am still not very affectionate with him, as I know he has had no veterinary care, and can possibly be carrying a whole raft of diseases... but he still is kinda cute.

I also spent last night in the hospital, as I had a bit of fever, headcahe, jiont aches etc... of course the first thingwas to test for Malaria, which showed negative. However, the doctor told me it is still possible to have Malaria and show negative on a blood smear. GRRREAT!!! So, I had to have a needle in the ass of anti-malarial meds, as well as some broad-spectrum antibiotics, and had to sleep in the hospital. Bad news is that I still have to sleep in the hospital for the next 4 nights, after each of 4 subsequent injections, to monitor me for side effects. wicked. The "bed" in the hospital actually had a spring poking through it into my ass... so I traded beds... to the only other bed in the clinic. Yup, two beds. That's it. They don't call it a level one clinic for nothing...

Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



13th June 2007

Super pics of the dog! An African dog - how cool is that?
Love the pics of the dog. I'm glad to know you're makin' friends :=) You'll have to learn Sudanese. I actually know a horse that only speaks German! My friend came back from Egypt in March and had the pleasure of being sick there with similar symptoms for a similar length of time. You haven't been eating meat from open air markets have you? Letting the dog curl up to you in bed at night? Well, as our Mum's would say, drink your fluids, get your rest (and your Malaria shots!) and take care. looking forward to the next installment - you're getting more writing done than I am!!!
13th June 2007

Hey HM!
Hey Don, I finally logged onto your blog. Looks like your settling in. Great dog, he's entertaining at least. We miss you dude, and we'll certainly be thinking of you this weekend. Craig pulled into town on Tuesday, and he's coming over to my house tonight for a little bike love. Tim's coming over too. MM has been in town since last Friday and I've had a few beers with him. We wish you were here, as I'm sure you wish you were here. I'll be checking your blog more often, keep posting updates. Ron
13th June 2007

Hey, kid - good to hear your voice last nght. Hope all that medical stuff isn't too much of a pain in the...nah, the joke's just too easy to make... Hope you're feeling better soon - and never fear, I'm sure Torit (dog, not area) will be winning your heart in no time... Love ya.
13th June 2007

Thinking of you.
Just wanted to let you know that I'm thinking of you! Needles in the bum (or anywhere else for that matter) are not fun. XO, Steph
14th June 2007

bring him home...PLEASE!!!!

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb