Touring The Falls at Victoria Falls


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Victoria Falls
April 7th 2012
Published: April 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Good Friday found me doing a tour of Victoria Falls. It was included in my package and it was awesome.

Victoria Falls is one of the big three falls in the world. While it is the tallest, the Iguagu in South America is the widest and Niagara Falls has the most volume of water cascading over the edge.

Victoria Falls is made up of 6 different water falls. They are all connected but the river breaks off at various points creating the seven different ones. They are the Devil’s Cataract, Main Falls, Horseshow Falls, Rainbow Falls, Armchair Falls, and the Eastern Cataract. The falls is a result of a volcano eruption and the lava apparently carved out the gorges.

The river that flows into Victoria Falls is the Zambezi (zam-bay-zee) River. It is the 4th longest river in Africa after The Nile, The Congo, and The Niger. The Zambezi flows through four different countries and end up in the Indian Ocean.

Our tour started at the David Livingstone Monument. David Livingstone was a missionary who travelled to Zambia often. He carried his Bible, to help convert the natives, but he never carried a gun. he also did not believe in the slave trade. Livingstone is credited for "seeing" the falls and naming it after Queen Victoria. To say he discovered would be wrong. There were plenty of natives and missionaries before him, but no one named it. In fact, the natives have a name for it… It is Mosi-oa-Tunya. Translated it means “The Smoke That Thunders.” In fact, when Livingstone first saw the falls in 1865, he wrote, "... as gazed upon by angels in their flight."

Enough with the history lesson… If any of these facts are wrong, you can blame Mike, my tour guide.

When we arrived, Mike, the tour guide handed out raincoats. The locals were also renting umbrellas for $3.00 USD. I thought it was kind of pointless... I mean, how bad can it be? They were renting them out under clear blue skies... Tourists will fall for anything!

The others in my group refused the umbrellas but they quickly put on the raincoats in the blazing hot sun. I thought that was kind of dumb and carried mine. It wasn’t until the Main Falls that I was starting to question myself. By the Horseshoe Falls, I couldn’t get my
The Big ThreeThe Big ThreeThe Big Three

The chart explains the stats on each falls
raincoat on fast enough. The mist from the falls was so heavy. It was coming at us harder than any rainstorms I have experienced. The wind was blowing in from Zambia over the falls and dumping the mist on us. It was coming from all four directions as well as from above and below. I felt like I was in the carwash when they turn the hot wax on and the car gets misted… except multiply that by 10,000. What an great experience!

We had to hide our cameras under our raincoats and them pull them out, take a picture and shove them away as fast as possible. It was an adventure in camera survival. My survived a little soggy, but still working. I was wearing a t-shirt, shorts, and flip flops, so while everything got soaked, it wasn’t as bad as those in my group who wore leather running shoes and socks.

We were out there for approximately 2 hours and it was unbelievable. I will let the pictures speak for my adventure.

In retrospect, I would highly recommending renting an umbrella... I mean, it's only $3.00... Just sayin'.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The Cloudiness Is MistThe Cloudiness Is Mist
The Cloudiness Is Mist

Main Falls At Victoria Falls
Me At The Main FallsMe At The Main Falls
Me At The Main Falls

God Bless the photographer... He never thought to put me and the falls in the same shot... And for the record, the camera adds 10 punds and the Falls adds 20.
Me In Front Of The FallsMe In Front Of The Falls
Me In Front Of The Falls

You can tell it's me by the way the sun catches my white hair.
The Bridge Over The ZambeziThe Bridge Over The Zambezi
The Bridge Over The Zambezi

This bridge connects Zambia and Zimbabwe.
Tourists In The MistTourists In The Mist
Tourists In The Mist

Who needs gorillas? I love this picture. This really shows you what we experienced
The Seven Natural Wonders Of The WorldThe Seven Natural Wonders Of The World
The Seven Natural Wonders Of The World

I have seen 3 of them... 4 to go!


Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb