Zimbabwe - Vic Falls


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Victoria Falls
January 29th 2011
Published: February 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Victoria Falls were incredible - I kept trying to compare to Niagara and Iguasu but its hard to remember how I felt seeing those - and each is so different. I was in my own world to start with - just taking it all in. The magnitude of the falls was incredibly beautiful and unbelievable. I think the word that describes it best is magnificent. We took so many photos, there were rainbows and fall spray. At one point we got absolutely drenched standing on Danger Point in the spray right at the end of the Zimbabwe side of the falls. It was awesome to spend time with the family, Vix, Tori and Leo.

In the late afternoon we went for a sunset (booze) cruise on the Zambezi. That was really awesome to be on the Zambezi river, sun setting, and a little bit of rain to cool the air down. It was so beautiful and special. I had one of those warm fuzzys of having everyone there. Good times. Once we got back we taught mom and dad 'Kings' - and it was truly epically funny. We were in hysterics, especially when we switched names. It was a special time, sharing in laughs and good times with my family. I know I will miss this.

Saying goodbye to everyone at the airport was hard - but then again it is only 2-3 months and then I see them again. As they went through the scanner they got beeped for talking Gin back, so they gave it to us which we added to our stash of half bottles of Soco and Amarula. As we were walking out the airport all the bottles rolled out of the bag we were using - thankfully none broke but man did we get some dirty stares - two young girls with 3+ bottles of booze. Vix and I just laughed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Zim-Zam borderZim-Zam border
Zim-Zam border

Mom, Me, Dev


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb