In the Western Sahara


Advertisement
Western Sahara's flag
Africa » Western Sahara » South
May 22nd 2009
Published: May 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I didn’t go to Laayoune after all, as I went straight through on the bus to Dakhla. It took 16+ hours and was uneventful except for the numerous police checkpoints. Also this fruit vendor, Abdullah, who bought me a yop and then asked to exchange phone numbers. I was suspicious, but his near illiteracy made me think he was just extremely nice, which he was. He gave me a bunch of photos of himself (odd?), and we are now brothers.

I arrived at Dakhla at 5 am and found a crappy hotel around 7:30 am that let me check in so I slept until noon. Then I explored the city --- so many cops and military!!! Bought a sweet “Lawrence of Arabia” suit! Off to Nouadibou, Mauritania tomorrow. Actually in four hours as I have to get up at 3 am, which means I’ll just stay up --- need an alarm clock. I have not met any Europeans/North Americans in a week! Perhaps in Mauritania.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb