'Jambo Muzungu Jambo!'


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Northern Region
January 12th 2014
Published: January 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Jambo Muzungu Jambo! Welcome English speaker Welcome! Or maybe it's 'Welcome white people welcome!' the children shriek waving wildly running to greet the truck, limbs flailing virtually doing jumping jacks in the air.

Where do I begin to describe the exuberance, beauty and bounty of Uganda! A cornucopia of riches and delights from the Nubian beauty's of Jinja, the source of the river Nile, the jewel toned birds, a belly full of ground nut stew, 3 on the back of a motor bike at night down country roads, dust in my face, wind in my hair and reggae music blasting from every shabby roadside stand. Dare I say I'm home?

The orphanage where I taught a class before they made me dance in the middle of their circle much to the delight and side splitting amusement of all my little tormentors.

The gorillas not in the mist but in my face! The roadside stands laden with fruit and vegetables and the easy grace and warm smiles of people just happy to have a conversation not trying to hustle you for anything.

Wifi is spotty at best and it's getting late...I will write more in depth soon but for now feast on the photos and know that nothing can ever do this place justice

Photos not loading well so just a few posted for now


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

My classMy class
My class

Little Angels Orphanage
Bynyoni campBynyoni camp
Bynyoni camp

Bynyoni camp on lake victoria
The rangers took such care of meThe rangers took such care of me
The rangers took such care of me

At gorilla tracking station


13th January 2014
In my face!

Wonderful!!
Keep going and keep it coming!!! trodding thru the Motherland living in simplicity, spontaneously and poetically.............love it!!

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb