The Source - The Nile River


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Eastern Region » Jinja
January 11th 2007
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Source - The Nile RiverThe Source - The Nile RiverThe Source - The Nile River

I'm going to the Nile River! Look at the map...it's far from home and I can't believe I'm here!!!
Today we went to Jinja to "The Source"...it's what the locals call the place where the Nile River begins. It's amazing to think of where I live and where I was standing today - on the bank of the Nile River!!!! I don't know that I can adequately convey how much in "awe" I was at my experience today - I mean seriously, a few thousand miles from here and a few thousand years ago Moses floated down this same Nile River!! Words are not enough to express how beautiful this place is...so, instead of babbling about nothing, enjoy the photos... I'm loving it here...do I really have to leave in a week and a half???


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Boats on the NileBoats on the Nile
Boats on the Nile

This was taken from the car...we're not even standing on the bank yet!!!
Entrance FeesEntrance Fees
Entrance Fees

This is a natural attaction...it's too bad we have to pay for it, regardless of how cheap it is.
A Tourist HutA Tourist Hut
A Tourist Hut

No shopping for me here; it's a tourist trap where they jack up the prices for the muzungu crazy enough to buy something...
The Story...The Story...
The Story...

of how the sourse of the Nile was found.
I think this used to be a walkway...I think this used to be a walkway...
I think this used to be a walkway...

but it's long been in bad repair.
Joe taking a walk...Joe taking a walk...
Joe taking a walk...

out in the middle of the Nile River!!!
Smile...Smile...
Smile...

Deniece and Elisa at the Source
Ghandi MemorialGhandi Memorial
Ghandi Memorial

Apparently Ghandi had his ashes spead at the Nile River, so there is a memorial here...interesting.
Boats for RentBoats for Rent
Boats for Rent

We didn't have time for a ride, but how cool would that be...a boat ride down the Nile River!!!
Is that edible???Is that edible???
Is that edible???

No one knew what this fruit was or if it was edible, but it sure looked funny...
My Last GlimpseMy Last Glimpse
My Last Glimpse

I was sad to leave the Nile...I think I could have spent a couple hours sitting here, just enjoying the fact that I was the the mouth of the Nile River.


7th November 2007

was it good
hi did u have a good time and what was it like i have always wanted to go to egypt emb

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb