And then I stayed in a five-star hotel


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Entebbe
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

This week has been wonderful, but crazily busy. The World Cup, of course, is in full swing, and so that is exciting. Every time an African team plays you can hear the sound of the vuvuzelas from TVs and radios. Sometimes, people are spilling out of tiny shops that have tvs and I can't imagine that all of them can see well enough to tell what is going on. I went to see the first match, which was between South Africa and Mexico, at a bar. There was a funny Ethiopian who sat next to me, and as he got drunker and drunker he got more and more excited until he was jumping up and down by himself when South Africa shot wide. He realized after about 20 seconds of celebration that the goal hadn't counted (I pointed out that there was no goal in the first place) and actually stormed outside for five minutes just to recover from the frustration/disappointment. I was watching the match with a friend from work and she kept teasing me about my Ethiopian boyfriend. Oof. He was actually probably at least 40. There was also a vuvuzela inside the bar, which was loud and obnoxious
Muzungu! Take our picture!Muzungu! Take our picture!Muzungu! Take our picture!

Kids will cheeze for the camera anywhere in the world
and I was happy that they had brought it.

I also went to a tiny salon where Jane (our maid) got her hair done. They didn't have time to do mine, but we took pictures (with everyone and their sister. Everyone wanted to be in a picture.) I also found a gelato place attached to a grocery store owned by Italians, which is exciting because the lack of dessert in Uganda is sometimes troubling. You can get two big scoops for a little under a dollar. Niccce.

During the week I was running around like mad trying to get ready for two big meetings--one in Kampala and one in Entebbe. It was hectic, and really full of organizing things, which I am not the best at (my mom would confirm this) but everything came together really well. On Thursday I met a lot of important members of civil society and on Friday/Saturday I met a lot of members of Parliament. It was great. I learned a lot of things about the oil sector and its political/social/economic implications. Thursday and Friday night I stayed at the hotel where the workshop was being held, and it was amazing. I had an enormous room with a king-sized bed and a huge bathtub. So, although the weekend was a little hectic, it was also luxurious. (Did I mention that they always had dessert available after lunch and dinner?)

I also met some really nice people who were helping to organize the workshop who were in their early 20s, and so I became friends with them. It is great that I know know some people around my own age. On Saturday night, back in Kampala, I spent time hanging out with them. It was a lot of fun.

Also, on the way home from Entebbe, I was riding with my boss and a couple other people from work, and somehow in our conversation we started talking about age, and it came out that I am 19. At first, everyone was incredulous (apparently a lot of women lie about their age here, even when they are still young,) and then everyone just laughed. Apparently everyone has been thinking that I am 22 or 23 the whole time I have been here. It was funny.

Last night I went to a BBQ with about 6 other muzungu (whites) one of which Lillian
Martin and PatrickMartin and PatrickMartin and Patrick

I live with Martin,(R) and Patrick (L) lives down the street.
(the woman I am staying with) met at a meeting. It was a lot of fun and everyone was extremely nice. There was someone working in micro-finance, one working in monitoring local governments, one studying malaria transmission (she's not taking anti-malarials...wow...) and one professor who is doing a study on the transparency of NGOs. Everyone was significantly older than me, but we got along just fine. We also had the best guacamole I've had in a really long time (the avocados here are stellar.)

This week is promising; I have a lot of things to do, but I also have a fairly significant amount of time to do them in. It is amazing that I have already been here for five weeks. I am making new friends and spending time with the people I have known since I have gotten here. I think the next three weeks will be wonderful.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Gelato!Gelato!
Gelato!

Friends and gelato are a winning combination.
Outside of the SalonOutside of the Salon
Outside of the Salon

Outside of a small salon in a slum near where I live.
A taxi and a sunsetA taxi and a sunset
A taxi and a sunset

Again, outside the salon.
Putting in BraidsPutting in Braids
Putting in Braids

Putting braids in hair takes about 5 hours. It is a loooong process. This is Jane and the women working on her hair towards the end.


5th July 2010

Sorry I am late with a message.
Colin and I returned from Ireland yesterday the 4th of July (my excuse for a late recognition). Thank you again for another interesting and well written report from your stay in Africa. I have enjoyed everything you have written.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb