Africa Mercy Volunteer


Advertisement
Togo's flag
Africa » Togo
April 25th 2012
Published: April 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Last evening I went with a group to show the Jesus film at a location somewhere in Lome. It was shown on the side of the street in fromt of a church. The pastor and his wife spoke English. The wife wore traditional dress. The pastor and five children worn western style clothing. The wife showed me some bags that she made with small sized cord. I think she tries to sell then to make extra money. The church was lovely inside. About 30 passers-by stopped to watch the movie which was in the local language. We also sang and prayed. It was interesting to watch the people's reaction. They clapped at the miracles made negative sounds when bad things were happening. I was told that this was done twice a week in different neighborhoods.

The food so far has been much to my liking. Last night I selected the beans & onions with rice. I don't know what spices were used but it was delicious. And to my surprise there is peanut butter! I can also have tea or other drink anytime in the dinning hall. The water is filtered.

It seems there is a water shortage on ship. We were told not to do laundry until further notice. Paper products are also being used. It is raining today. The water problems has more to do with delivery.

The nurse who shares the pod in the cabin with me is from Australia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb