Merci Norris!


Advertisement
Togo's flag
Africa » Togo » Atakpam
April 29th 2007
Published: April 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have to give a great big Thank You to my best friend Norris for his visit to West Africa to see me last week! It was an amazing experience for both of us: his first trip to Africa, and my chance to see my new home through his eyes and also see how far I've come at adapting to this difficult environment.

We started his 12 day trip by traveling through Ghana, because its always cheaper to fly into Accra, Ghana is more developed and organized than Togo, and Ghanaians speak English so it was easier for Norris to communicate. Accra is a very modern African city, and after 10 months in Togo it looked like America to me (of course for Norris, just off the plane, it looked a lot morelike Africa, but he hadn't seen Togo yet). We then went to a nice laidback beach called Kokrobite with a rasta vibe and amazing (and cheap) food. After a few days we continued west along the coast to Cape Coast, where a 400 year old castle built by Europeans gives testimony to the barbarity of the slave trade. The dungeons where newly captured Africans, both male and female, awaited transit to the Americas as slaves were sobering and sad but an important reminder of this historical atrocity. For Norris, an African American, I think the castle was especially meaningful.

Next we continued inland to the Kakum National Park, famous for its canopy walk high in the rainforest. We spent the night under a mosuito net in the rainforest and at this point Norris experienced two West Africans staples: that perpetually dirty and sweaty feeling; and stomach roblems. But he pulled through like a champion without a single complaint and I respect him all the more for it. Africa is not an easy palce to live, or even vacation! The next days we spent 7 hours on tro-tros, or crowded and crammed 15 person bush taxis, to Accra and then north along the Togolese border to Hohoe. After a relaxing night we traveled to the Wli waterfalls, the largest in West Africa. We has a wonderful time swimming in the falls which were amazingly powerful after a night of pouring rain. NExt we walked across the border to Togo, where we found transport to Adeta, the site of my Peace Corps training. Norris met my host family and some friends before we continued just south to Kpalime. On this short stretch of road Norris experienced Togolese bush taxis which are even less comfortable tan those of Ghana. I was sitting in the front seat on the gear shift with him next to me halfway out the window! Needless to say we rented taxis to ourself from then on. We had two relaxing nights, and an amazing ribs and chicken dinner, in Kpalime before going to Atakpame, my future home and where I am now. Here Norris got to meet many of my Togolese and Peace Corps friends and we had a blast dancing at some bars and clubs. The next day, a little tired and hungover and suffering from the blazing heat, we made the difficultjourney to my village for the market day. Norris trie tchouk, the local beer, for the first time, and everything was fine until lightening struck a few stands over, killing two people instantly (or so the rumors go). Everyone seemed to agree that the deceased must have stolen something to deserve such a punishment. Superstition is alive and well here!

After a night in my village we traveled to Lome and stayed in the beautiful Hotel Srakawa. Norris had just enough time to go to the huge Lome market and by lots of cool art and jewelry, as well as have an African suit tailored, before we had to return to Ghana for his flight home. We did so much, but I think it was all worth it as Norris saw more of Africa than most Americans ever will. NExt trip, though, I'll be happy just to lay in bed and watch DVDs for 12 days! Just kidding!

I'm out of time here but I'll update you more soon. Thanks again Norris. Your visit meant the worldto me!

Advertisement



30th April 2007

NORRIS: OUT OF AFRICA!
I'm so proud of Norris! I'm glad you guys made it through the trip in one piece!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb