Life's a beach and then you die.


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
October 20th 2007
Published: October 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Captain KevCaptain KevCaptain Kev

Old Sea Dog
In the words of the Buddha 'all life is suffering'. I can confirm this as I return to Stonetown, Zanzibar after a week on Zanzibar's northern beaches which fulfil every promise made and more. Tom and I have snorkelled, swum with turtles and generally had the life of Riley this week. Who is Riley anyway?

Please forgive my novice attempt at this blog. I am literally learning as I type and hopefully I will improve providing I can remember from one session to the next how to do it.

After two weeks in Bangkok where I got new dentures for 5 bob, I arrived in Dar Es Salaam (Place of Peace), the main commercial city and port in Tanzania last week on Tuesday to be met by Tom. We had a couple of days in Dar while I acclimatised to the lifestyle in Africa before heading off to Zanzibar by the Flying Horse, a large ferry which takes about 3 hours. Zanzibar has a strong Islamic feel and reminds me of Essaouira in Morocco with its white buildings, many mosques and the folk getting around in djellabahs and hejabs. It is a very relaxed and friendly place and many
Kev and turtlesKev and turtlesKev and turtles

David Bellamy's understudy.
of the locals seem genuinely friendly and willing to engage in conversation.

Tomorrow we travel back to Dar Es Salaam and then head north to arrange a safari in the Serengeti all being well.


Advertisement



21st October 2007

Good to see you on board old chap
Hey Captain Kev, nice one, can't wait for your blogging to begin. Have fun, all the way from Amsterdam.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb