Peace in Paradise


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Kendwa
February 24th 2012
Published: February 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This morning we transferred from Stone Town to Kendwa, which is a small town on the north coast of Zanzibar. Our hotel is right on the blindingly white beach, and although it's a budget hotel, it's still pure indulgence. Hammocks, exotic cocktails (with a daily happy hour lasting for three hours) and massages on the beach. I don't think it could be any more perfect.

I won't waste anyone's time by describing the minutiae of the two days we spent at Kendwa, because there's really nothing I can say other than I spent both days swimming, sunbathing and sinking cocktails. And for the first time since the tour started, I had time to myself, time to think. Time to really look at the world around me. Sometimes I'm very conscious of the constraints that exist when travelling in a group like this, of the fact that there isn't always enough time or space to take both mental and physical photos, so one has to be sacrificed for the other. I instinctively reach for my camera the moment I see something worth taking a picture of, but it's a habit that I'm trying to break. I want to frame these moments, and the feelings I have, in my mind before capturing them in pixels.

Standing on the beach with the waves around my feet, staring off at the sun resting on the far horizon, I thought about all the things that I've not had time to think about. I savoured the moment. I relived the experiences I've had since leaving England, what now seems so long ago. I allowed myself to miss my family and my friends. It felt good. It felt liberating. I think that coming to Zanzibar was something that I needed on a personal level. I needed the time to be at peace with myself and the world around me, and I got that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



24th February 2012

hey hunni im glad you have found a little oasis on you tour! it looks wonderful and i so wish we were there together but it sounds the perfect thing for you, to have time to think! miss you so much and i cant wait to to talk to you again im hoping it will be soon!!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb