bed!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Usa River
June 26th 2011
Published: June 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 6/25 @ 730am
Yesterday was definitely an interesting day.. biggest ups and downs! So the day started off by going to the school and Jake and I thought it was test day for middle class (supposed to be every friday in June) but Anna said that it was not prepared so it was just play day. The kids played on their own for a while and than gathered for songs and dancing games (my favorite) and yes, I did take videos and yes, they are quite fantastic. They do the most amazing songs, its got to be my favorite part of the orphanage. We took a break around 11 for oogie (porridge) and than back to playing for a bit. Next, all 60 kids gathered in the baby class B classroom (the only room at the orphanage, the other classes are outside) and squeezed in for "story time." Best story time ever! Nobody reads them a story, each student individually comes up and makes up a story and shares it with the rest of the class. The kids are SO creative and fearless, its incredible. None of them get shy standing up there, talk about preparation for public speaking- geeze!! Anyways, its pretty great to see these kids come up with stories and they are between 2-6 years old. They can also get up and sing a song if they want, and we all know I'm a sucker for their songs so I thoroughly enjoy those students.
After school, Jake and I went home for lunch and there was a girl in my room! Apparently a new volunteer arrived but nobody informed us of the addition so it was all to my surprise that I now have a roommate. Her name is Helena and she is from England and she's 18. there are 3 italian boys that showed up that night and they are all 17.. hm... quite interesting. ahhhh gotta run - more later, PROMISE.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb