The Kilimanjaro Experience ... sorry so late!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
July 26th 2014
Published: July 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This was written a while ago if you were interested in how the trip went.




***

So it's been one week since I've been back from Tanzania. All that training, all that hard work and now I'm sitting back home and trying to remember the feeling while I was there. I told some people to really live in the moment while we were there because I knew how it would feel when I returned, been there done that. Kilimanjaro was an unexplainable accomplishment that you can only understand if you have done it.

We met the last of our group in Amsterdam and had a great time searching for Hywel! Everyone targeted single men walking around--too funny. Luckily, I knew what Hywel looked like 😊 The climate in Tanzania was surprisingly mild in September, not humid. Our first hotel would pave the way to a string of great hotel choices throughout our trip. We met some of the South African's that would join us. Too bad one bag got lost on Precision Air.

Kambi Lodge was a bitch to get to with all the endless dust, but well worth it for the accomodations and the all you can drink 😊 Great card game competitions and falling chairs! I didn't plan on drinking, but can't turn downt that kind of opportunity!

In no time we were climbing. There was again lots of dusty trail (volcanic ash?) and we all got told to mind the porters! FYI, walk in a singe file. Pole, pole was the way to go.

Some people were sick on the first or second day, but they didn't take Diamox. I took one diamox and one advil and did not get any altitude sickness. The only time I didn't feel like eating was on ther 3rd? day after going to Shira Huts. Probably due to the fried snadwhich! The meal times were always a great time 😊 I'll never forget the candles on pinapples! And it's called Meeloo (MILO) people! As we got higher breathing was a bit more laboured. It got a bit colder, but it didn't get really noticably cold for us Canadians (minus Bill and Cindy--hotties) until we arrived at Barfu base camp.

The night of our ascent we had a full moon (I planned it) and we got up at 10pm. The way up was interesting. It felt like we were walking on sand, there was this "easy" spot as Hamisi our assistant guide put it...not easy,but it made me laugh. All we thought of on the way up was how we were breathing. Carel, our Safari365 guide gave us pep talks that nearly caused me to break down and cry a few time...lean forward, breath...all the blood, sweat and tears came down to that moment. Carel stated to focus on Stella point only.

When we got there it was short lived, we were ushered to quickly continue to Uhuru Point. The sun had risen just above the clouds.

At the peak it was caos, 19,340ft (5895m). So many people elbowing to get a shot with their group. There was no snow. I took in the moment with my new friends 😊

Porters have a hard job. They carry everything on their heads! and they aren't dressed very warmly. They could use any hiking clothing, poles, backpacks.

The descent is the best kept secret ever! So I won't say a word. We met some children along the way that kept saying "chocolate", i was so out of it I thought they were selling chocolate! LOL, I asked how much!

At Mweka Huts I discovered that there were double rates going on (soudhave seen that coming). The partying didn't begin until we reached Springlands Hotel later the following day. Man we all drank so much (too much whiskey for me--but still up by 430am!) and got yelled out by a Swede LOL. Springlands left much to be desired. Looking at it, we should have stayed in Arusha town than Moshi town.



The group split and some went took a flight to the Serengeti and the rest came with me on my 3 day safari itinerary to Taringire National Park, Ngorongoro Crater (the lowest point in Tanzania), Oldupai archaeological site (where first upright hominids roamed), and a Maasai village (indigenous people). The safari guide was incredibly knowledgable. Olupai reminded me of my arcaeological roots and for a moment I wanted to follow that career path again...the animals were incredible too...just one big African Lion Safari (where the animals are really wild of course). The accomodations got more luxurious as we went on. Ndutu Lodge was a bit of a drive, but I would do it all again just the same. Animals were easily spotted from our rooms or eating area. The bonfire area looked so beautiful. What can I say, it was a magical night 😊



We met the rest of our group at KIA for our departure. It was so sad to see Africa end and I put on my MP3 player to play Toto's Africa once more... Amsterdam was waiting for some of us. Good food, cafes, rain, tattoos and H&M stores...sad goodbyes at the airport. Kisses and hugs to all my Kili team, 5895!!!

<span><span>Asante Sana Kilimanjaro.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb