WE DID IT!!!!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
August 7th 2006
Published: August 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Surrounding ScenerySurrounding ScenerySurrounding Scenery

Waking up our first morning to a beautiful view to the South
A great big "Good Job" to all of us! =)
A big shout out to my family who were kind enough to contribute genes that allowed me to climb to 19,164 ft without Diamox! =)

How it all began....
Wake-up call at 10pm, tea and cookies at 10:30, and at 11pm we started our final leg of the voyage up. The night was clear, and thankfully there wasn't much wind. the clinking of our steps and trekking poles on the slate sounded like breaking glass or clinking chimes. All I saw was the ground in front of me, Paul's back, and occasional tents set up along the route.

We started our ascent with our guide Godi in the lead and the assistant guide, Phillip in the rear. Vaughn and Laura quickly started to pull away, so Godi stuck with them and Paul and I stayed with Phillip. I started to tire out around 17,000ft, but some GU gave me new energy and we plodded on. For some reason, playing movies in my head helped me to keep a steady pace and keep my mind off the pounding of my heart, my gasping for air, and the headache starting
Devil's TowerDevil's TowerDevil's Tower

The gang at Devil\'s Tower...about 16,000ft up! We weren\'t all feeling so well, but we powered on!
from the altitude and thin air.

The stars were bright and looking down the slope you could see the slow-moving headlamps of other hikers. Paul and I were the fourth group moving up the mountain, and we maintained that spot until the very end when we were distracted by taking photos of the ice. I kept the pace slow to conserve energy, minimize the number of stops (once you stop moving, you can start to freeze at such a high altitude0, and to convince my body that this is easy going and no problem at all (hah!). 3/4 of the way up I started to feel ill to my stomach, but fortunately nothing happened...others weren't so lucky!

This effort is very physical in that you need a strong heart and lungs, but more than that you have to have the mental determination to fight throug all the barriers altitude puts in your way. Headache, stomach ick, dizziness, shortness of breath (ie. gasping), and your heart pounding. You just need to grit your teeth between gasps and drag yourself upward. As we were nearing Stella's Point, my fortitude was decreasing rapidly. It was than 5:15am, a full 6 hyours of climbing leading up to this point. This is where the wind picked up and buffeted us, making me stumble sideways a few steps, it was so powerful!

From there, it was actually a gentle slope up to the summit, and we made it about an hour later at 6:30am, exactly as sunrise hit. We were in a cloud, so couldn't get any distance pictures, but had fun posing at the signpost at Uhuru Peak! As we neared the peak we saw Vaughn, Laura, and Godi and we all started yelling and laughing and hugging each other! It was the best feeling in the world!

I can't put pictures up right now....I have to find an internet cafe with USB ports for the cable, but we will try our best soon. Today we are heading out on safari to the serengeti, the ngorongoro crater, and other locations, so you will be getting another large entry when we get back! We will be gone for 6 days, 5 nights, maybe with an extra day thrown in if we can work it out to see the wildebeast migration.

Love and hugs to you all!!! Thank you for your comments, and i look forward to hearing from you all again soon! Much love,

Jen, Paul, Vaughn and Laura


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Stella's PointStella's Point
Stella's Point

This is where you could turn back and still get a 'green' certificate for climbing Kili. We continued on to the summit for a 'gold' certificate, but at the time, it was too cold. Had a chance on the return to take a pic. :-)
Red Hot Poker FlowerRed Hot Poker Flower
Red Hot Poker Flower

We had more time for wildlife pics on the way down...:-)
The night of our return...The night of our return...
The night of our return...

Can you blame us? We just couldn't resist going to a restaurant named, "The Golden Shower Restaurant." I mean, could you resist???


7th August 2006

Whoo hoo!
I'm so proud of you guys. That is absolutely amazing - a feat very few can say that they've done. I can't wait to hear more and see pictures! Travel safe.
7th August 2006

Congratulations!
I can't wait to see pictures!!!!!!!!!
7th August 2006

Impressive... most impressive
Clearly the Force is with you young Weitzman. It's very impressive that you scaled Kilimanjaro. I can't wait to see the pictures and hear all the details. Steve
7th August 2006

WOW!!!
I mean i like to hike but that would have left me all behind in the clouds. I am glad that everyone has made it to the summit and there were no injuries. I can't wait to see the pictures, especially of the wild life. Don't feed the animals they like to bite back. LOL!!! Hugs stacy
7th August 2006

Congrats!!!!
Hey Jen et al, Congrats! I can't wait to get the full story. I can share the pics of me climbing Kili when I was 17, circa 1974... a lot still sounds the same. Except what is GU? I can't believe you did it after only being in Africa a couple of days. It pays to be young and strong. Have a great safari... wish I was there! Deb
7th August 2006

WOW
Congratulations to everyone...What an impressive feat! Can't wait to talk to you in person. hug and kisses to all. Meredith
8th August 2006

SNOOCH !!
awesome~ i'm glad to hear you got to the top with out any problems. did vaughn do his meditation pose? did you and paul have a nice kissy-kiss at the summit? do you like the food? what do all the locals think of this mountain climbing business? have fun hunting a wildebeast for me !! and say hello to my fellow hippopotami :) jake
8th August 2006

Congrats!!
Hey guys, Congratulations on making it to the top! What a huge accomplishment. It proves that no obstacle is too big if you set your mind to it! Have fun on safari. Alison.
8th August 2006

Congrats...
good job climbing, guys... so Jenn what movies did play in your head? I can't wait to see pictures!
8th August 2006

Congrats!
Sweet! There's nothing like standing at 19,000 ft to make you realize that you're above the altitude a plane gets to when flying between Cincinnati and Columbus, OH!
8th August 2006

How exciting!
Hi Jen, Thanks for including me on your list - I love getting these updates! Sounds so exciting! Have a wonderful time! I can't wait to see the pictures....Love, Dina
10th August 2006

Awesome!
Congratulations! Gosh, what a feat!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb