February 21st – IT’S TOO CLOSE !!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
February 14th 2011
Published: February 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, it’s been a couple of weeks since I last updated this blog. It’s not helped that I’ve been without my laptop, for what seems like an entire lifetime (but in reality it’s only been a couple of weeks) since it’s been getting repaired due to an ‘accidental fall’ – I do hope that is the only ‘accidental fall’ that I’m going to mention here.

Time has flown by and it’s now exactly ONE WEEK till I meet up with my walking friends at Heathrow Terminal 4 to start this long awaited adventure.

Apprehensive – Absolutely,
Nervous – Undeniably,
Excited – Occasionally
Confident – Not particularly (if I’m being totally honest).
Should/Could I have done more training – For sure.

It is all too late now to do anything that’s going to make any kind of major difference to my chances of successfully reaching the summit. All that I can do now is repeatedly read through my kit-list and ensure that, even if I’m not 100% physically prepared, I’ve at least got all the required gear to help make things slightly more tolerable.

I’ve purchased items until they’re coming out of my ears. Never in my wildest dreams I’d have thought that I would easily be able to spend £134, in Boots, in one hour, on a Saturday afternoon. Mountain Sun Cream, Lip Balm, Wet Wipes, More Wet Wipes, Hand Gel, More Hand Gel, Even more Hand Gel, Earplugs, Antiseptic Cream, Plasters, Bandages, Blister plasters, Compeed, Deep Heat, Rehydration Salts, Pain Killers, Insect Repellant, Knee Supports, Energy Bars, Isotonic drink tablets, Spare sun glasses, Dry Shampoo, etc etc etc. Then onwards to Cotswold Outdoors for some even more last minute panic buying – Spare boot laces, Another drinks bottle, Sleeping bag liner, Travel Towel, More energy bars, Carabineer clips, another pair of trekking socks, another base layer.

I’m pleased that we have actually got a strict 12kg weight limit for the mountain, or I think that I would be bankrupt before I leave !! However, my day pack is going to be about that weight as well at the start point, what with the volume of water I’m taking (3ltr Camel Pack, 2 x 1 ltr bottles – that’s 5kg already without anything else!)

After a lot of thought, I’ve decided against taking my prescription medication of Diamox right from the start – Ohhhhh controversial I know ! Even the common side effects that everyone gets do not seem the most appealing, I am only going to use it if/when the dreaded AMS does start to occur. I’ve gone for something more natural, called Ginkgo Biloba. I’ve already started taking it, and will continue to do so throughout my trek. If you’re not interested in high altitude climbing/trekking then ignore all that I’ve said in the above paragraph, if you are, then put ‘Ginkgo Biloba’ and ‘AMS’ into Google and read away. You may find it interesting, and if you’re looking for some alternative to Diamox, then this could be your thing.

Now onto Malarone, the bloody malaria tablets that I paid over £60 for. Do I take them, do I not? Do I risk catching Malaria, or do I spend the first couple of days and nights shitting molten lava through the eye of a needle and puking up my insides with every step? Having the squits whilst walking doesn’t fill me with too much joy. I only need protection from Malaria on the first day as the little bastards can’t fly up too high, yet if I start taking them I have to complete the whole course, which includes all the time that I’m NOT at risk, i.e., all the other days apart from Days 1 and 10. I’m siding on covering up and bathing in deet whilst vulnerable. I think that I should pencil a few more sleepless nights into my diary to think about what to do.

Last night I attempted my first trial packing session ……. Bugger, I’m going to need a bigger bag! (or alternatively pack less stuff …. I think that I’ll go for the bigger bag option). Still, after I’d crammed the majority of gear in, until the side stitching had just about burst open, the bathroom scales were saying …… 10.3kgs. Good result that!

Then, unfortunately, not only did I relised that I had actually left a fair bit out, BUT my bags arse and head were actually resting on the floor rather than on the scales. I flipped the bag up onto its end, and re-weighed …… the outcome …… I need to pack much less stuff L I do think that there are items in there that I could honestly do without. I’m a bloke, I’m away for 10 days, so I really don’t need 10 pairs of boxers, or 10 pairs of socks do I. I’m going for 3 of each, 6 t-shirts ….. drop those down to 3. I won’t bore you with the specific details, but I know that I can just about ½ the quantity of most of my kit yet still be comfortable in most conditions.

What else is on my mind ?

A lot, I can assure you! (maybe I will in another blog entry, you never know, I’ve bored all the people around me for long enough so I may as well prattle on about this to someone else in cyberspace).

February 21st – IT’S TOO CLOSE !!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb