Arusha, Tanzania


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 29th 2006
Published: July 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Our Trip


Well we've made it to our final leg of the trip. Two weeks today and I'll be arriving home! We have our last bit of vet work next week followed by a little bit of vacation time in Zanzibar and then back to Nairobi for our flight out on the 10th of August. The trip to Tanzania went pretty smoothly, or as well as an 18 hour bus ride could be! I am definitely starting to appreciate even the luxury of travelling by train at home. The roads were the worst in Kenya, and so there was definitely no sleeping. I was kind of glad it was dark out because I often wondered if we were even on anything remotely resembling a road. Tanzania is very pretty. It's much greener than Kenya and we even saw giraffes on the way in. We're staying in a town called Arusha, which is a very bustling tourist hub for many of the Tanzanian safari destinations. So far it's rained every day here and it's actually pretty cold. As I'm writing this I'm wearing about 6 layers and it's around 1 in the afternoon! We're staying at a campsite/ restaurant called Masai Camp which is really nice and the food is fantastic- definitely a change from the traditional Ugandan food of Posho and Matooke! They seem to use a few more spices here so there's a bit more flavour to the food!

Since our project in Kenya working with elephants fell through at the last minute we had hoped to spend some time working with Heifer international and the Arusha Society for Protection of Animals but unfortunately their schedules weren't able to accommodate us so instead we've spent some time wandering around Arusha and buying some souvenirs. There's a lot of really neat shops but it's crazy here. The vendors are very persistent and they will follow you down the roads trying to sell their goods. They don't give up, even when you tell them you're out of money. We had two ladies follow us for almost 1/2 a km down the road before they finally gave up!

Tomorrow we’re headed to Ngorogoro Crater and Manyara National Park. We’ve heard it’s one of the most predator dense regions in the country so we’re hoping to finally see our cheetahs! Tuesday to Friday we’re headed to Manyara Ranch to do some livestock and herd health work and then Saturday we’re taking the bus to Zanzibar. I’ll try to do an update from Zanzibar but I’m not sure if there will be Internet access so this might be my last update before leaving. I hope everyone has enjoyed hearing about my adventures and I’m sorry I wasn’t able to upload more pictures! Once I get home I’m going to sort through pictures and then I’ll definitely be sharing them with everyone. Have a safe couple of weeks and I can’t wait to visit with everyone when I get home!

http://www.travelblog.org/gmaps/map_1FB.html


Advertisement



9th August 2006

great stories
Hi Michelle! I just got home from travels myself and I've enjoyed hearing about all your adventures. Have a safe trip home (or maybe you already did by the time you read this!) Heather
9th August 2006

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!
Happy birtday to you from Poland. Very inetersting website,I've visited it from the beginig and thnaks your blog I could learn a lot of Africa and develop my reading skill in english. Safely travel home Mieszko
9th August 2006

Happy Birthday Michelle
I understand you are travelling today so we can't talk, but we all want to wish you a very Happy Birthday! One you won't forget, I'm sure! Love from home and looking forward to seeing you this weekend!

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb