Empty Nest!!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 17th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Need a Drink?Need a Drink?Need a Drink?

Nothing better than a fresh drink of water!
We were sitting in a room full of couples, moms, dads, and grandparents. The lights down, a power point presentation running and a box of Kleenex in the middle of each table. The speaker was giving an unsuccessful speech to prepare us parents for our children leaving home.

The words were coming out of her mouth, I saw the pictures, but they were not of the Microsoft family she had pasted into her presentation. The pictures I saw were of Joshua.

Squatting in front of our home in Monterey sipping the water from a puddle on the sidewalk where it had collected when Anthony washed off the sidewalk after mowing the yard.

I saw him peeking out of the dryer from the perfect hiding place when he decided to play hide-and-seek without telling me and I nearly called the police. He understood he wasn’t suppose to tell you where he was hiding … it was your job to find him. After all isn’t that the point of HIDE AND SEEK.

Then there is the day in Tanzania where he and Anthony were playing outside. He yelled “Chase me Daddy!” and took off … Anthony went after him
Break a Leg - Or NOT!Break a Leg - Or NOT!Break a Leg - Or NOT!

Loved the hospital food!
and when Joshua turned to look to see if Anthony was chasing him, he ran right smack into a huge tree! He hit it so hard that it knocked him flat, leaving bark marks on his face! Sorry folks … we laughed so hard we cried .. all the while running to make sure he was okay. He was.

I remember a VERY long trip to Dar Es Salaam with him literally strapped to a 2 x 4 and me having to give him injections of pain medicine every so often because he broke his leg in 3 places. We traveled by car, plane and ambulance until he was in surgery nearly 24 hours AFTER he had broken his leg. He is almost 6 ft. 3 - the surgeons did an excellent job.

I remember the year he decided to play football. I wasn’t thrilled. I didn’t particularly like football; especially if my son was the one getting hit. But, he’s a boy, I was going to be supportive, so when the time came to go to the game I took a blanket and a paperback book to read while the game was going on. When the game
MVP!MVP!MVP!

Super Bowl Win!!
started I don’t think I read another word. I didn’t last long in the bleachers either. After that I walked the fence as they moved on the field. He won the MVP award that year and the team won their version of the Super Bowl.

I also remember the day Anthony baptized him. He regularly leads singing and prayer at worship. Has taught the young boys class, and even taught the nursery class a couple of quarters. According to Cameron, Joshua is a Brachiosaurus! The kids think he’s cool.

I’ve had it asked of me several times, how could we leave and move to another country and leave Joshua here. We aren’t leaving Joshua - he’s leaving us - it’s that time when regardless of what mine and Anthony’s address is - his address will be different from ours. Our home is always his home, and he knows this is just another change that this life is so good at giving us.

Many of you have already gone through this, some will have to in the future. So, if you all would help us out, say a little prayer for us to help us get through this without embarrassing him by clinging to him as they drag us off campus!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Tough Guys!Tough Guys!
Tough Guys!

Joshua is the first on the left ... the rest is the Senior Squad
Cameron's BronchiasaurusCameron's Bronchiasaurus
Cameron's Bronchiasaurus

Where it all matters! Pinewood's youth group.


17th July 2006

letting go
If you love them you are required to let them go-this boy is loved, I know that for an absolute fact, he is going to be a tremendous addition to the world he is about to launch into, what he needs is the same thing we all need, a little encouragement, a lot of prayers and a hug now and again just to let him know he will always be at home in God's Kingdom no matter where his mail comes to.
18th July 2006

family
I loved this "journal entry" (I think it would be called that) and I see how important even your grown child is to you. How that you want people to know about him even though he's not coming to Africa with you. Your letter shows how important FAMILY is to you. He's a part of you, and you a part of him. I loved the way you showed some pictures of him and told the stories concerning him. Telling and showing about Joshua helps people understand even more about you. We feel the same way. Our family (children) are important to us. You're a wonderful writer because you write from the heart. You write with feeling. Sincerely, TG

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb