Zanzi-time, then home-time.


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi Friends,

Today is Zanzibar day!! Very exciting!

Yesterday was my last day at the orphanage. It was incredibly sad, obviously I cried. When do I not cry? We threw a little party for the kids with balloons and music and candy. We had so much fun! The kids LOVE playing with balloons and dancing to the World Cup song, so we put it on repeat and it has been in my head ever since. Before I left they gave me a thank you card and they all signed their names and it was so cute. It was definitely the hardest saying goodbye to Joaseph and Bryson. I even tried to run out with Joseph but got caught. Hiding a 3 year old under your t-shirt is way less concealing than one would think. But over the last 8 weeks I took some amazing photos and videos that I am so excited to share with all of you when I get back!!

Our flight to Zanzibar is in a few hours. It is only an hour and a bit to get there. The bus, on the other hand, takes close to 10 hours and then you have to take a ferry so I said heck no to that idea and opted for the luxury of a tiny plane that allows chickens and machetes to board freely. Wish me luck! We get back on Tuesday afternoon, and then I fly out of Kilimanjaro airport that night and head to Amsterdam, and then finally to Toronto.

So I guess this will be my final Africa post. Sad day. Thanks everyone for reading it and following along in my experiences. I can't wait to get back and see everyone! I just wish that didn't mean I have to say goodbye to Tanzania. Well, not goodbye, just so long... for now 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb