Hakuna Matata, what a wonderful phrase...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
October 20th 2010
Published: October 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

stripesstripesstripes

I think the one on the left is pregnant
Hi everybody!

So safari was amazing!!! I don't really know how to explain it on a blog, so I am just going to write a bit, and post some pictures, and then we can all talk about how awesome it was when I am home and in person. I hope that is ok?

The safari was 4 days and 3 nights camping. I know, I camped. Shocking. The first day was spent in Tyrengere National Park, and it was where we saw the most animals. The park was beautiful! We spent the full day driving around there, and were able to get so close to most of the animals. We even saw lions mating!! The camp site was pretty small, and it was gated, so there were no animal intruders that night. It was fun camping out! We had a cook who was with us, so he took care of all our meals. They were actually really good!

The second day we drove through the Ngorongoro Crater to get to the Serengeti. The crater was beautiful! It was amazing to see because it used to be a volcano millions of years ago, but it has eroded into a crater and now has its own ecosystem in it. We didn't go down the crater until the last day, but it was a beautiful view. The Serengeti was really cool to see, but not all that exciting. It is really really big (14,763 sq km), and really flat, so you cant really see as many animals because they are all spread out. But there were 3 giant buffaloes that visited the camp site at night, so that we equally exciting as it was terrifying. On the first day we were there we saw a leopard eating an antelope in a tree! It was crazy!! and on the second day a leopard was walking right beside our truck! I wanted to touch it but Moses wouldn't let me, such a kill joy. Later that day we went back to the crater, where we camped, and then explored on the last day.

The crater is unbelievably beautiful. I took some awesome pictures there! We really wanted to see a Rhino, but now there are only 18 left so unfortunately the odds were against us. In the 1970s there used to be 500-600 Rhinos, but because of poachers, there are so few left. But we did see flamingos, not at all as exciting, but still kinda cool.

I'm really sorry, but I don't know what else to say about it. It's not really something you can type about, but believe me, I can talk about it.

This weekend we are going to Pangani, it's a coastal town so we are just going to snorkel and hang out on the beach and tan/burn. And then the following weekend is ZANZIBAR!! so basically I will be either really tanned or really red when I get home in 2 weeks. 2 weeks! CRAZY!!!

Ok, that is all for now, sorry im such a bore, but enjoy the wonderful photos.
xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxoxox



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

elephantselephants
elephants

look at the baby!!
Elephant, Moses, and ErinElephant, Moses, and Erin
Elephant, Moses, and Erin

Moses caught off gaurd
monkeymonkey
monkey

sitting like a person at the picnic site.
lionlion
lion

right before the honeymoon began... if you know what I mean.
Erin, Paige and AmandaErin, Paige and Amanda
Erin, Paige and Amanda

at the top of the crater
elephant road blockelephant road block
elephant road block

in front of our truck in the serengetti
leopardleopard
leopard

RIGHT BESIDE OUR TRUCK
up close...up close...
up close...

I feel bad saying it, but wouldn't that make a beautiful coat? I know you were all thinking it!
ElephantElephant
Elephant

look at the size of those tusks! I bet all the ladies say that.
safari trucksafari truck
safari truck

action figure sold separately.


21st October 2010

Awesome....
Words, pictures and action figures (thet look so real!) XXX

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb