A very late entry...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is incredibly late but our internet room has been closed or broken since I arrived here last Sunday! This is going to be very rushed before I run off fto my afternoon project. Projects are going really well, I love working in the nursery and the HIV work is really interesting. I'm taking my first seminar by myself this today so I'm quite nervous! We ended up with an impromptu women's group last week - they were actually pretty clued up, but then believed a whole lot of incorrect stuff as well, which led to some interesting questions! It's a lot harder with the men to try to get them to believe that we're not lying - interestingly the women seem a lot more receptive. Mixed groups often lead to male-led debates with the women not saying much, so it was great to provide a forum for the women's opinions, even if it wasn't planned! Unfortunately we do not have the staff or resources yet to constantly run single sex seminars.

The house is basic but fine, although we did have to move rooms when our toilet refused to flush for 6 days (and I had a stomach bug - I'll leave the rest to your imagination, suffice it to say it was pretty funky!) We had a day in Dar es Salaam for orientation and have been to all the local beaches as Friday was bank holiday (farmer's day). I feel like I've settled in here and don't really miss any home comforts, but I have a feeling that that's because I know it's only for a month. It's great to be so involved in local life, we spend most of our evenings in a local bar and have met some great people. Myself, Simon and Sam are off on safari on Thursday - going to lake Manyara, Ngorogoro crater, masai village and serengeti, I'm really excited!

Got to go now but will try to update this a lot more often - will make for more interesting reading!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb