TIA: This is Africa


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan
June 10th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sudanese Coat of ArmsSudanese Coat of ArmsSudanese Coat of Arms

Borrowed from www.vector-images.com
History Lesson:


This is what I have learned from Galib & through my own research on the internet.

There is the SPLA & the SPLM. (Collectively known as the SPLA/M)

SPLA: Sudanese People Liberation Army. Previously referred to as "Rebels" & sometimes still are, but now they are the "armed" section of the SPLM. SPLA formed as a result of lack of infrastructure and resources and they fought for the betterment of the Sudanese people living in the south.

SPLM: Sudanese People Liberation Movement, grew from the SPLA and is now a legitimate political movement in opposition of the Government.

Then there is the Sudanese Government.

Agreement:
A Comprehensive Peace Agreement was signed in Nairobi, Kenya on January 9, 2005, between the government of Sudan and the SPLM.

What's going on:
Power struggle between the SPLM (incl. SPLA) & the Sudanese Government.

The UN is there to facilitate between the two groups.

TIA



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

SPLASPLA
SPLA

In order to show you what the SPLA look like, this photo is borrowed from www.interet-general.info/article.php3?id_article=2076
Landmine clearanceLandmine clearance
Landmine clearance

This photo is borrowed from www.mod.uk to demonstrate landmine clearance completed by the SPLA


11th June 2007

Fascinating
Hi Cin and Galib, That's pretty cool. The picture of the general in his sunglasses reminds me of the movie Blood Diamond. I had no idea about the structure or the power struggle that was going on between them. As Spock would say " Fascinating" Thanks for the info cousin. Scott
15th June 2007

A Fellow Canadian Going to Ed-Damazin
Dear Cin and Galib, My name is Ante GALIC. I am a Canadian orignally from Toronto. I've just received my appointment to Ed-Damazin from the UN High Commssioner for Refugees. I'm not sure on my arrival - most likely sometime in July 07. I would really like to hook up with Galib. My wife and our two children will remain behind in Croatia where I'm currently located. I finished a posting in Zambia that completed at the end of 06. Any info you guys have on Ed-Damazin would be really appreciated. Never forget, these are the best of times and it's a brave new world. Best regards, Ante GALIC guevarra37@hotmail.com
17th June 2007

A Fellow Canadian Going to Ed-Damazin
Dear Cin and Galib, My name is Ante GALIC. I am a Canadian orignally from Toronto. I've just received my appointment to Ed-Damazin from the UN High Commssioner for Refugees. I'm not sure on my arrival - most likely sometime in July 07. I would really like to hook up with Galib. My wife and our two children will remain behind in Croatia where I'm currently located. I finished a posting in Zambia that completed at the end of 06. Any info you guys have on Ed-Damazin would be really appreciated. Never forget, these are the best of times and it's a brave new world. Best regards, Ante GALIC
15th February 2011

More Inform
Excellent research. I love it. If interesting for more information, go to SPLM/A structure at www.goss.org which is the administrative organ. Also, the lost boys found in U.S are SPLM/A's roots. Check them at www.lostboysreunited.org for images. I love your Blog.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb