Motoring to Stellenbosch


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
April 28th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

the indian ocean it was not
Stellenbosch, in the heart of the wine lands was our next stop and the site of our most fancy accommodation, De Kraal Lodge (see reviews also). Set among botanical gardens, our room was massive with bijou living area and a welcome bottle of wine and the place had a pool too. Hot from our non air con car, I was well up for a dip, until I wagered a toe in the water and shrieked like a big girl’s blouse. It was the coldest water ever. I tried again to knee deep and ran back out, the other one thinking it hilarious. I was determined though and third time lucky I flung myself in, flailed like an out of control Octopus, screamed, gasped, tried to act casual, gave up and ran like crazy out (note: there wasn’t anyone else there).

After that, of course I harangued the other one mercilessly that he had to try it too and he did get in eventually, by which time a few years had passed, we’d endured a conservative government, Ferguson had retired from United (now languishing in mid table) and Les Dennis had finally cracked a joke that was funny.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb