Having second thoughts!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
September 4th 2006
Published: September 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi!
So I've arrived in Cape Town after a few traumatic events which nearly meant I didn't get my flight here from Heathrow! Sorry to bore you with this but I just have to fill you in..On arrival at the airport, I was told there had been a problem with the conveyor belt so they couldn't check in any luggage. Hand luggage only... always a good thing to be told when you're about to go off round the world! Just when I had finally decided to go ahead without my luggage, an annoncement came over the tannoy to say that all flights had been cancelled so I wouldn't be going anywhere at all!! I was just about to give up and go home , when Sarah and I spied an official looking person in a British Airways outfit. We went over and told him I had to get on my flight and asked if the flight was really cancelled. Somehow, we picked the right guy to ask because he was on my flight to Cape town too. So he had a word with an official and somehow they managed to check me in (and told me not to flash my boarding card around to everyone!)
So I managed to get my plane, with only my hand luggage, and Sarah's going to bring my bag when she comes out tomorrow for a holiday.. Phewee!!

So I got here yesterday morning and spent a day just doing a bit of exploring. I did the classic tourtist thing yesterday and went on an open top bus tour just to see the sights and get my bearings. I managed to pick the worst hostel in the world to stay in for my first night! I was the only person in a manky 12 bed room, run by a weirdo man who smokes like a chimney and I couldn't even lock the door to my bedroom! So first thing I did this morning was get myself outta there and check in to a normal place. I will be having words with STA ttravel who recommened that place!

Sorry I don't have much to report at the mo, thought I'd better just check in to say I'm here and when we've done some cool things like walked up Table mountain and hired a car to go exploring, I'll have some photos to show you all.

Bye for now then, I'm off for some lunch

LOL Nicky xx

Advertisement



4th September 2006

Reply Glad ok
Sorry forgot to send rash vest and upsoide down boat swimming costume! Terry and vivienne arrived for lunch so I am afraid I forgot all about them. When do you need them - perhaps we can send them to NZ or via Kim? Mum xx Hi! from Dad! Got Sarah off this a.m. with luggage hassle again!! she'll fill you in tomorrow - they wanted £400 for excess at first, so had to shove all in one bag. that just got away with it; but your bag is back here!!! It'll be cheaper to get another one over there and we'll have to try a claim with B.A. All should be well now, have a great time - hear before we go v. early on Wed. Love Dad xx
4th September 2006

:O)
Hey Beach Bum, Great to hear you got there........eventually! No bags... means no clothes... means there's shopping to be done - have you hit the shops yet? I am so jealous just thinking of you in sunny Cape Town - it is miserable and grey here in Ireland! Hope Sarah gets there stressfree - and you to have a gr8 week! take care, love b x
4th September 2006

:O)
Hey Beach Bum, glad to hear you got their safe and sound....eventually! Sounds like a nightmare with the bags and all but hey no bags means no clothes which means a trip to the shops is is in order! I am so jealous thinking of you in sunny Cape Town, it is miserable and grey here in Ireland! hope Sarah gets out to you hassle free and you two have a gr8 wk! Take Care, B x
6th September 2006

Hey!
Hey Nicky! Glad you are there safe and sound - sounds like a right palatha at the airport. Emily lived in Cape Town for 3 months so if you want some tips on places to visit drop her an email: ems_kuhl@hotmail.com Take care and have a wicked time Luv Fliss xx
11th September 2006

Hi ya!
Hey Fliss Just got a chance to check my email and saw yours. Thanks for the tip, I'll email her anyway and see if she has any more tips. I left cape town this morning when sarah left to go home. Had a wicked time there, did loads of cool stuff. Hope all's cool with you TC Nxx
11th September 2006

Hey
Hi ya Sarah's gone now :O( so i'm a lonely traveller again. LEft Cape town this morning after a wicked week there. Did so much and spent loads of money. the shopping was most definitely in order, even though i had my luggae back only after a few days when Sarah brought it. Must restrain myself though as i'm told there's a cool place called Jeffrey's bay which iscool for surfing and they have loads of outlet stores like billabong o'neill and loads more.. and then there's NZ and OZ too so really must try and hold on! Anyway, it's cool fun, not sunny anymore so no need to be jealous. Reckon it's warmer in Ireland than it is here!! Hey ho, not long till summer. TC x
18th September 2006

OOoo Pat!!!
Hey Nic, hope your'e managing ok on your'e own now and not lost your wallet yet??!! Have you met loads of cool people? Your'e really not missing anything here - winter is definately on its way!!! I sent you a text the other day but then thought have you got your phone? Anyways, i really hope your'e having LOADS of fun and have settled into 'traveller' mode well!! Take care and send some photos soon!!! Lol Elly Xxx

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb