Tiddely Pom


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
September 7th 2008
Published: September 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

... to speak with Winnie the Pooh, bear of very little brain. Very little brain seems to be left in my head, too, as I find it very hard to concentrate on a meaningful entry. And that, although I have time on my hands, am on my own again, do not have to make any plans if I don't want to ... but still. So bear (!) with me and accept that it's more or less just a few more pictures today.
The first part of my "One Year Off" is now officially over. Two days ago we arrived here in Capetown, had a farewell dinner in the "Paulaner Braeuhaus" (not!! my choice) in the Waterfront district, and then went our separate ways. Most are staying on in Capetown for a couple of days but all in different places. I was recommended a really lovely - inexpensive - guesthouse, the Bellevue Manor, in a quiet sidestreet of the Seapoint area, from where it takes me just 10 minutes by bus or collective taxi (Sammeltaxi) to either the Waterfront or the City Bowl (= centre). I have found a tailor nearby who will patch my ripped shorts, an optician who will fix my broken glasses, a cheap car rental place if I want to venture further away, so what more do I want.
I will stay in Capetown for at least a week, I think ... "I think" meaning that I am not sure of anything much yet which is a good feeling. So far everything was "on schedule" and rather than being at a loss I enjoy taking things as they come for a change.

Yesterday was a brilliant spring day ("... der Himmel ist aus riesenblauem Taft" - Kaestner) and I went on a walking tour of the Boo-Kap area of Capetown. I went there by collective taxi which you just flag down at the side of the road - a first for me. Will they stop for me? How do I recognize one? But easy peasy, as soon as they see people looking around they slow down calling out "Capetown! Capetown?" and you just get on. I already knew that it was just 5 Rand however far you want to go and they drop you off along their route where you ask them to.
I had just bought a map of Capetown and had a rough idea of where I wanted to go so just wandered along enjoying the sunshine and the beautifully painted Boo-kap houses. Eventually I ended up at the Boo-Kap Museum where I met Shireen, an official tour guide, who just happened to have time so I went on a tour of the area with her. A little bit of information overload but as I already knew a little bit of the historical background it was great. Especially the snackeroonies on the way which she bought in one of the corner stores, little Malay cuisine delicacies, the names of which I have unfortunately forgotten - but not the place where she bought them.

Later on I walked down to the Waterfront which was great fun, too, as there are performers everywhere doing traditional dancing and singing so you just wander around stopping here and there. I video-ed some of them with my camera to show you once I am back.

Now for some photos - which I know you are all waiting for - starting with the cheetah and rhino ones which were "lost in translation" the last time.

Have fun ... and send me some messages so that I won't feel too alone now that I am on my own.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Mokoro RideMokoro Ride
Mokoro Ride

Our tourleader Jo in one of the dug-out canoes in which we travelled through the labyrinth of the Okavango delta.
Black RhinoBlack Rhino
Black Rhino

... or: Spitzmaulnashorn am Okaukuejo Wasserloch, Etosha Pan
Himba woman Himba woman
Himba woman

on the phone to nowhere


Tot: 0.222s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 19; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb