Better Late Than Never


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 18th 2008
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Monday, August 18, 2008, 7:02 AM

Ok, I know that it has been 10 days since I’ve been back in the United States, and that I haven’t included any events in my blog from July 21st onwards (yikes), but better late than never, eh? When I got back on Friday morning (August 8th), I headed up to the Ruhle’s Vermont house with my brother for a little shindig with Jeff, Dave, Jon, and some NJ friends, then to Kawanhee for Counselor Party (dinner, party, and all), then back home for a night before spending the next week with mi madre at Humarock. Needless to say, I’ve kept busy. And, as usual, the blog has been put on the back burner. But I have an open chunk of time this morning before everyone else wakes up (typical, Anne) so I will do a whirlwind tour of my last two weeks in Cape Town and my Safari! Brace yourselves ☺

To tell you the truth, I don’t remember anything about Monday, July 21st, where I left off. Probably the usual work-gym-dinner-hang out routine. But on Tuesday, BobbiJo, Courtney, DeeDee, and I went shoe shopping on Main Road during our lunch break. I FINALLY got a pair of converse—brown, plaid, perfect. And as luck would have it, I had left my credit card in the copy machine in our office at the hospital (we were making copies of important documents in the wake of recent Connect muggings and the like…), but Courtney bailed me out with hers and I paid her back later (thanks again, girlie ☺). Then, like the over-achievers we are, we took the afternoon off—Courtney and I went to the Garden Centre to get some essentials and then spent the rest of the day in Mugged. Their internet was being finicky (which happened more and more towards the end), so it was more just to hang out with Connect-ers and Trinity (the café puppy). We went out for Mexican on Long Street for Seaton’s last night, and then made a brief appearance at the Irish bar, Catu, for Tuesday night karaoke. Jamie sang, and was AMAZING. No wonder she liked coming every week, haha.

Wednesday was famous for our first POWERPLATE CLASS at Virgin Active (props to BobbiJo who finally remembered what it was that made Wednesday an important day to remember…it took us a few days of hard thinking to do it, haha). Originally developed for astronauts in zero-gravity to keep their muscles functional, the power plates used high frequency vibrations to work more muscle fibers during normal exercises. The instructor led BobbiJo, Courtney, and I through a half hour series of lunges, pushups, and crunches on the plates. My hamstrings were sore for the next couple of days! That night, we checked out Nyoni’s Kraal, a traditional South African restaurant, per recommendation of Tony, one of our favorite Excite taxi drivers. I had a great chicken stirfry salad and a not-so-great worm from Oli and DeeDee’s salad. No seriously, they eat worms here, and therefore we felt that we should too. Been there, done that, no need to do it again.

When we got back, we had our Batman Begins pajama party in preparation for The Dark Knight, which we were seeing on Sunday. It was pretty late before we got started, and most of us were falling asleep towards the end, but Caileigh saved the night with her guacamole. After getting lots of work done (I needed to finish my research and presentation by Tuesday!) at the hospital the next day, we drove to Cavendish mall for (surprise, surprise) sushi. I brought Bobbijo (her first sushi ever!) and Courtney along with the regular sushi crowd, and then we walked around the mall (specifically to get ice cream, haha) for a bit before we headed back home for Connect Drinks. It was down at the waterfront at a place called Alba, and we were stuck in this back room because there was a private function going on in the main bar ☹. Oh well.

Friday was a DAY OFF! Rene had told us earlier that she wasn’t going to be in, so we accepted it as a sign that we shouldn’t be either. Courtney and I dropped DeeDee and Erin off at the hospital (they didn’t have our excuse ☺), and then drove to the UCT bookstore to purchase at UCT sweatshirt, a functional momento of Cape Town and our semi-student status. We had also bought afternoon tickets for Robben Island, but when we arrived at the waterfront to catch the ferry over for the island and prison tour, we were oh-so-kindly informed that all tours were canceled. Presumably because of the slightly windy weather? We then waited in line to get a refund, and only then decided that we should have rescheduled for Sunday. So we waited in line AGAIN, and finally got it squared away. We tried to make our cab ride worth it by spending some time in the V&A waterfront mall, but we headed back before too long.

I graced Mama Africa with my presence again (for the third time, haha) that night for Megan’s 26th birthday. Charleigh and I were lucky—we weren’t forced to order anything (usually they have a one-main-course-minimum-per-person rule, and since we had both already eaten dinner, and didn’t want to spend more money, it only made sense). Afterwards, everyone went home, but I wanted to stay out for longer and luckily ran into Blake, Oli, and Chierika. Of all places, we went to Teasers (Chierika and I begrudgingly came along, convinced only by the fact that “the boys would pay for everything”). Don’t think I’ll ever forget that night, haha.

Saturday morning: we piled into Lola (7 people, I do believe) and made a trip to the Old Biscuit Mill again (to introduce BobbiJo and Courtney, and for the free-sample-brunch). Afterwards, Steph, Meghan, Bobbijo, Caileigh, Chelsea, and I departed for Cape Point, since all of us didn’t go on the Connect trip (poor Courtney couldn’t come because her weeklong stomach virus was just starting to kick in…). Yes, there were six of us, but after getting lost a few times, our singalongs, and paying less for gas, we decided the backseat cramming situation was well worth it. We finally made it to the Cape Point state park, did a little uphill climbing to stretch our cramped legs, took lots of pictures, then headed back north to Boulders Beach in Simons Town to see the PENGUINS! They were so cute, and great evidence that, yes, there ARE penguins in Africa ☺.

Since we were in Simons Town already, we stopped by Phoebe and Rob’s house, where they had invited us for tea and cake. It was nice for them to meet some of my friends, and for my friends to meet my family and see a typical Cape Town house and neighborhood. We talked about my bungee jumping and the upcoming safari, and Rob gave us tastes of his hand-selected cakes from the local Spar—delicious ☺. We had dinner at the Brass Bell (the same restaurant we ate brunch at when I visited a few weekends earlier), right on the water, and got by very affordably (Steph and I split a pizza, and BobbiJo and I split a fruit cup for dessert). Our day of travel warranted another low-key movie night, and since we had been talking about Dirty Dancing all day (and how Meghan(?) and I had never seen it), we got in our pajamas and headed up to 1604 (like usual). Good day, en total ☺.

The next morning (Sunday the 27th): it POURED. Which put off our Green Point market plans until close to 2 o’clock and canceled our Robben Island tour completely (for the 2nd time). But we finally made it to the market when it cleared up, and I was able to finish up my Christmas shopping in the mud (yes, I’m on top of things this year, haha). When we got back home, I went to the gym thanks to a guest pass ☺, and then prepped (mostly mentally) for The Dark Knight. A whole bunch of us had bought tickets in the same row at the waterfront theatre, and were SO EXCITED. I had my popcorn and chocolate/yogurt covered peanuts and raisins from the mall a few days earlier, and lots of people to share it (and my excitement) with. Let me say that none of us left disappointed. Absolutely amazing movie, mostly thanks to Heath Ledger.

Monday was marked by a marathon cramming session for my final research powerpoint (I missed the last Green Dolphin jazz night with Charleigh and DeeDee ☹), which I presented on Tuesday to the doctors in the department. It went very well, Rene gave me a GREAT recommendation letter, and a fabulous good-bye party at our Pain Management meeting. Bobbijo and I (Courtney was still sick ☹) ate SO MANY cookies, and slices of cake, and cups of coffee. It was our breakfast and lunch combined…healthy huh? (I remember we both performed really well at the gym that afternoon, haha). Tuesday night, we had our Mean Girls Night (in 1604, surprise, surprise) which Courtney was able to come to (she hadn’t left her room since Saturday, poor girl!). Steph and I quoted as much as possible without being obnoxious (which everyone was very impressed with). Haha, I’m so pathetic…I don’t even want to know how many times I’ve seen that movie.

Wednesday was a day of LASTS. It was my last day at the hospital and Sarah Fox, which was sad ☹. I said goodbye to all my doctors, handed in my database, research, and powerpoint, and spent my last afternoon with all my babies. Bobbijo and I went to the gym for the last time (I’m sure they’re glad to see me go since I effectively got two months for the price of one *evil laugh*) and then got ready for my last Mama Africa trip. I (along with Bobbijo, Chelsea, Anna, and maybe another person) got the vegetable curry, which was AMAZING (and BobbiJo’s favorite meal yet!) especially for being the cheapest item on the menu, haha. It was a great mix of the new people and some of the old, and I introduced them all to Abakhaya. Zwelly and the other band members remembered me and sent me waves and smiles during their songs. I’m a self-proclaimed groupie, I admit it. When we were done eating and listening and dancing (and saying a silent goodbye to Zwelly…last time at Mama Africa!) we headed to the Dubliner to wish Jamie a happy (30th!!!) birthday before going home and passing out ☺. Fun, fun, fun.

Thursday I had unwittingly packed full of activities, when I really should have been packing my bags. Luckily for me, the weather helped me out a bit by being its usually crappy self, so Robben Island was canceled for the 3rd and final time (I think it’s a sign…) and the beach horseback riding (with Courtney and DeeDee) was postponed. So I was able to do laundry, tie up loose ends, finalize safari plans (which were CRAZY and stressful due to Walker joining at the last minute…), and pack my luggage. I finished with enough time for a final farewell dinner (which was GOING to be at Bismilah, a traditional Cape Malay restaurant, but Kevin bluntly told us we were going to Caveau with the rest of them…let’s not get into it). The dinner was decent (it was actually a tapas restaurant, so the portions were small and expensive…Bobbijo and I were smart and ordered soup for not too much money), but they boys brought wine with them and started drinking it…and Caveau is a restaurant known for its wine. My God, the rest of the dinner was just as embarrassing with the boys’ antics and classy conversation topics. Our side of the table was cringing, haha.

When we got back, I finished with my bags and brought them up to BobbiJo’s room (so that when I got back from the safari and staying with Phoebe and Rob, BobbiJo and Courtney could bring me to the airport directly from work). I donated all my extra food to her, and then spent some time with her and Chelsea, eating popcorn, and talking until late, late, late. I went to bed, my backpack packed for the SAFARI the next morning. That will be in the next edition ☺. Time for breakfast now. That was a nice little trip down memory lane, sorry again for it being so late.

Random Facts of The Weeks: There are at least TWO different airports that fly into Jo’burg (foreshadowing for our safari trip…).



Advertisement



1st November 2008

Abakhaya Mama Africa
Hi check us out on http://www.myspace.com/abakhayamarimba Let your friends know.

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb